Home About Chat Users Issues Party Candidates Polling Firms Media News Polls Calendar Key Races United States President Senate House Governors International

"A historical political resource." 
Email: Password:

  US Court of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit
Chief Judge
 Chief Judge   
Circuit Judge
  Circuit Judge 1  William "Bill" H. Pryor Jr. 0 05 +8.16%
  Circuit Judge 2  Barbara Lagoa 0 19 +68.42%
  Circuit Judge 3  Elizabeth L. Branch 0 18 +52.08%
  Circuit Judge 4  Jill A. Pryor 0 14 +100.00%
  Circuit Judge 5  Kevin C. Newsom 0 17 +36.08%
  Circuit Judge 6  Robert J. Luck 0 19 +34.74%
  Circuit Judge 7  Robin S. Rosenbaum 0 14 +100.00%
  Circuit Judge 8  Andrew L. Brasher 0 20 +9.47%
  Circuit Judge 9  Beverly Baldwin Martin 0 10 +100.00%
  Circuit Judge 10  Charles R. Wilson 0 99 +100.00%
  Circuit Judge 11  Britt C. Grant 0 18 +6.12%
  Circuit Judge 12  Adalberto Jordan 0 12 +89.90%

Courts of Appeals DETAILS
Parents > United States > U.S. Supreme Court > U.S. Courts of Appeals  
Established October 01, 1981
Disbanded Still Active
Last ModifiedScottĀ³ July 25, 2008 10:04am
Description [Link] October 14, 1980
94 Stat. 1994

The Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals Reorganization Act divided the Fifth Circuit into two circuits,
organizing the judicial districts of Alabama, Georgia, and Florida as the Eleventh Circuit and
the judicial districts of Mississippi, Louisiana, Texas, and the Panana Canal Zone as a new
Fifth Circuit, effective October 1, 1981. The act transferred all appellate judges whose official
duty stations were located within the Eleventh Circuit to the court of appeals for that circuit.
Of the twenty-six judgeships authorized for the former Fifth Circuit, fourteen were assigned to
the new Fifth Circuit and twelve to the Eleventh Circuit.

Established by Congress, effective October 1981, the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Eleventh
Circuit is a federal court with appellate jurisdiction over the district courts for the following districts:

* Northern, Middle, and Southern Districts of Alabama
* Northern, Middle, and Southern Districts of Georgia
* Northern, Middle, and Southern Districts of Florida

3 Seats (1, 5, and 8) have traditionally been reserved for Alabama.
4 Seats (3, 4, 9, and 11) for Georgia.
5 Seats (2, 6, 7, 10 and 12) for Florida.

Polls Close Description Takes Office




Start Date End Date Type Title Contributor

Title Purchase Contributor

Date Category Headline Article Contributor