Home About Chat Users Issues Party Candidates Polling Firms Media News Polls Calendar Key Races United States President Senate House Governors International

"A historical political resource." 
Email: Password:

  Bosnia and Herzegovina
  Chairman of the Presidency  Željko Komšić 0 21 +100.00%
  Chairman of the Council of Ministers  Zoran Tegeltija 0 19 +52.63%
  House of Peoples  Croatian Democratic Union of Bosnia and Herzegovina 0 18 +0.00%
  Alliance of Independent Social Democrats 0 18 +20.00%
  House of Representatives  Party of Democratic Action 0 18 +7.14%
  Alliance of Independent Social Democrats 0 18 +2.38%
  Croatian Democratic Union of Bosnia and Herzegovina 0 18 +4.76%
  Democratic Front 0 18 +2.38%
  Union for a Better Future 0 18 +2.38%
Autonomous District
 Brčko District   
Autonomous Entity
 Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina   
 Republika Srpska   
International Commission
  Office of the High Representative  Valentin Inzko 0 09 +100.00%

Serbia, Serbia and Montenegro  

Created From
[X] Yugoslavia Country February 04, 2003
Established March 03, 1992
Disbanded Still Active
ContributorGerald Farinas
Last ModifiedIndyGeorgia October 13, 2016 08:48pm
Description Bosnia and Herzegovina
Bosna i Hercegovina

Formerly administered by the defunct Serbian controlled nation of Yugoslavia, Bosnia and Herzegovina are Southeastern European states bordering the Adriatic Sea and Croatia. Upon declaring independence from Yugoslavia, Serbians took arms to stop the Bosniaks and Croats from seceding. Ethnic war lasted until 1995 when the Dayton Agreement was signed. The Dayton Agreement established legal boundaries between the the warring states now known as Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, and Serbia. That same year, the North Atlantic Treaty Organization were charged with enforcing the Dayton Agreement with the presence of peacekeeping forces.

With its capital in Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina have two first-order administrative divisions and one internationally supervised district: Federacija Bosna i Hercegovina (Bosniak Croat Federation of Bosnia and Herzegovina), Republika Srpska (Srpska Republic), and the Brcko Distrikt (Brcko District).

A federal democratic republic, Bosnia and Herzegovina are led by three presidents (one Bosniak, one Croat, one Serb) who take turns assuming the ceremonial duties of President every eight months. The President is the Head of State. Presidential terms are for four years, elected by popular vote. The Head of Government is the Chairman of the Council of Ministers, diplomatically referred to as a premier. He leads the Council of Ministers which stands as the nation's cabinet. Legislation is the jurisdiction of the bicameral Parliamentary Assembly or Skupstina. It consists of the National House of Representatives or Predstavnicki Dom and the House of Peoples or Dom Naroda.

Bosnia and Herzegovinia States -

Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Bosnia and Herzegovina  Discuss
Office of the High Representative for the Dayton Agreement in Bosnia and Herzegovina  Discuss
SFOR Stabilization Force of NATO in Bosnia and Herzegovina  Discuss
State Government of Federacija Bosna i Hercegovina in Bosnia and Herzegovina  Discuss
State Government of Republika Srpska in Bosnia and Herzegovina  Discuss


Category Name
Newspaper Bosnian Institute Newspaper 

Start Date End Date Type Title Contributor
Oct 07, 2018 12:00am Oct 07, 2018 02:00pm General Election Bosnia and Herzegovina General Election  IndyGeorgia 

Title Purchase Contributor

Date Category Headline Article Contributor
Jul 21, 2008 07:00pm News Karadzic Captured  Article New Jerusalem 
Jun 03, 2005 01:00pm News Bosnian execution video shakes families  Article Brandonius Maximus