Home About Chat Users Issues Party Candidates Polling Firms Media News Polls Calendar Key Races United States President Senate House Governors International

"A historical political resource." 
Email: Password:

 Alachua  278,468
 Baker  28,259
 Bay  175,216
 Bradford  28,303
 Brevard  606,612
 Broward  1,944,375
 Calhoun  13,648
 Charlotte  186,847
 Citrus  153,843
 Clay  218,245
 Collier  375,752
 Columbia  69,698
 DeSoto  33,976
 Dixie  16,759
 Duval  995,567
 Escambia  321,905
 Flagler  115,378
 Franklin  12,451
 Gadsden  43,826
 Gilchrist  17,864
 Glades  12,126
 Gulf  14,192
 Hamilton  14,004
 Hardee  25,327
 Hendry  39,619
 Hernando  194,515
 Highlands  101,235
 Hillsborough  1,459,762
 Holmes  19,653
 Indian River  159,788
 Jackson  47,319
 Jefferson  14,510
 Lafayette  8,226
 Lake  383,956
 Lee  760,822
 Leon  292,198
 Levy  42,915
 Liberty  7,974
 Madison  17,968
 Manatee  399,710
 Marion  375,908
 Martin  158,431
 Miami-Dade  2,701,767
 Monroe  82,874
 Nassau  90,352
 Okaloosa  211,668
 Okeechobee  39,644
 Orange  1,429,908
 Osceola  388,656
 Palm Beach  1,492,191
 Pasco  561,891
 Pinellas  959,107
 Polk  725,046
 Putnam  73,321
 Santa Rosa  188,000
 Sarasota  434,006
 Seminole  470,856
 St. Johns  273,425
 St. Lucie  329,226
 Sumter  129,752
 Suwannee  43,474
 Taylor  21,796
 Union  16,147
 Volusia  553,543
 Wakulla  33,764
 Walton  75,305
 Washington  25,318

County List DETAILS
Parents > United States > Florida  
Established 00, 0000
Disbanded Still Active
Last ModifiedRP September 21, 2019 10:21am
Description Florida has 5 constitutionally mandated county elected officials: Court Clerk, Property Appraiser, Sheriff, Supervisor of Elections and Tax Collector. They are generally elected on the same years as the US President and serve 4-year terms.

Florida counties have County Commissioner boards of at least 5 members with districts. Some counties elect them by district, and some elect them county-wide even though they represent a district. Larger counties may have more Commissioners, including At-Large districts. Usually districts 1, 3 and 5 are elected on Presidential years and 2 and 4 on midterms, but a few counties reverse this.

Florida school district borders are the same as the county borders with one school district per county. Some counties have the Superintendent of Schools as an elected position, and some are appointed by the school board.

Most counties conducted their county elections as partisan, but several conducted nonpartisan elections until a FL Supreme Court ruling in April, 2019 required all to be partisan. [Link]

FL Counties Nov 14, 1997-

Alachua Baker Bay Bradford Brevard Broward Calhoun Charlotte Citrus Clay Collier Columbia DeSoto Dixie Duval Escambia Flagler Franklin Gadsden Gilchrist Glades Gulf Hamilton Hardee Hendry Hernando Highlands Hillsborough Holmes Indian River Jackson Jefferson Lafayette Lake Lee Leon Levy Liberty Madison Manatee Marion Martin Miami-Dade Monroe Nassau Okaloosa Okeechobee Orange Osceola Palm Beach Pasco Pinellas Polk Putnam Santa Rosa Sarasota Seminole St. Johns St. Lucie Sumter Suwannee Taylor Union Volusia Wakulla Walton Washington
Polls Close Description Takes Office




Start Date End Date Type Title Contributor

Title Purchase Contributor

Date Category Headline Article Contributor
Aug 04, 2008 06:00pm News Battle over Confederate flag hits highways   Article Bob