Home About Chat Users Issues Party Candidates Polling Firms Media News Polls Calendar Key Races United States President Senate House Governors International

New User Account
"A historical political resource." 
Email: Password:

  Superior Court
Superior Court
 Adams County Superior Court   
 Asotin, Columbia and Garfield County Superior Court   
 Benton and Franklin County Superior Court   
 Chelan County Superior Court   
 Clallam County Superior Court   
 Clark County Superior Court   
 Cowlitz County Superior Court   
 Douglas County Superior Court   
 Ferry, Pend Oreille and Stevens County Superior Court   
 Grant County Superior Court   
 Grays Harbor County Superior Court   

Parents > United States > Washington > Courts  
Established 00, 0000
Disbanded Still Active
Last ModifiedRalphie July 27, 2010 11:48pm
Description The superior courts in Washington State are the court of general jurisdiction. These courts have exclusive jurisdiction for felony matters, real property rights, domestic relations, estate, mental illness, juvenile, and civil cases over $50,000. The superior courts also hear appeals from courts of limited jurisdiction.

There are 29 superior court judicial districts in the 39 counties. As of 2003 there are 174 superior court judges. Superior court judges are elected on a non-partisan basis for a four year term.

If only one candidate runs for an office in a county with a population of more than 100,000, that candidate receives a Certificate of Election, and the position will not appear on either the primary or the general election ballot. If there are two or more candidates for a position, the office will appear on the primary ballot.

In counties with a population of less than 100,000, all Superior Court candidates will appear on the primary ballot, regardless of whether they face opposition.

Polls Close Description Takes Office




Start Date End Date Type Title Contributor

Title Purchase Contributor

Date Category Headline Article Contributor