Home About Chat Users Issues Party Candidates Polling Firms Media News Polls Calendar Key Races United States President Senate House Governors International

New User Account
"A historical political resource." 
Email: Password:

  American Independent
CountryUnited States
Last EditedRBH - April 22, 2016 02:36pm
DescriptionThe American Independent Party was formed to place Presidential Electors on the ballot in 1968 who were pledged to George Wallace. The party nominated John G. Schmitz for President in 1972. In these two initial campaigns, the party appeared on the ballot with various party names (American, American Independent, George Wallace Party, Courage Party, Independent American, Independent, etc.).

Following the 1972 election, the party divided into two camps due to personality conflicts. The American Independent Party nominated Lester Maddox for President in 1976 and became the larger of the two factions. During the 1980s, the national organization fractured and dissolved, but it remained strong in California. In 1992, the AIP in California became the state affiliate of the U.S. Taxpayers Party (currently the state affiliate of the COnstitution Party).

Title Purchase Contributor

Start Date End Date Type Title Contributor

Date Category Headline Article Contributor
Mar 17, 2010 01:00pm News American Independent Party Primary Contests Will Influence Relationship with Constitution Party  Article Picimpalious 
May 02, 2008 06:00pm Blog Entry American Independent Party State Convention Will Attract Attention  Article RBH 
Sep 21, 2007 07:00pm General American Independent Party bannination to ensue?  Article RBH 

Enter your Name:

A moderator will have to approve your message before it will appear.
Simple bad-talking or insulting messages will likely be deleted.
This site is an English language site and non-English messages will be deleted.

Enter This Code


11/08/2016 NJ District 01 Mike Berman Lost 0.65% (-59.34%)
06/07/2016 CA State Assembly 43 - Open Primary Aaron Cervantes Lost 1.79% (-30.09%)
06/07/2016 CA US President - AIP Primary Wiley S. Drake, Sr. Lost 12.96% (-6.22%)
06/07/2016 CA US President - AIP Primary Tom Hoefling Lost 10.29% (-8.90%)
06/07/2016 CA US President - AIP Primary Arthur Harris Lost 17.08% (-2.10%)
06/07/2016 CA US President - AIP Primary J. R. Myers Lost 12.96% (-6.22%)
06/07/2016 CA US President - AIP Primary Robert Ornelas Lost 16.96% (-2.22%)
06/07/2016 CA US President - AIP Primary Alan Spears Won 19.18% (+2.10%)
06/07/2016 CA US President - AIP Primary James Hedges Lost 10.56% (-8.62%)
11/04/2014 US House - National Vote American Independent Party Control Lost 0.04% (-51.37%)
11/04/2014 Sevier County Commission - Seat A Kelly Johnson Lost 30.26% (-39.49%)
11/04/2014 CA State Assembly 79 George R. Williams Lost 38.06% (-23.89%)
06/03/2014 CA State Assembly 79 - Open Primary George R. Williams Won 0.32% (+0.00%)
06/03/2014 CA - District 11 - Open Primary Virginia Fuller Lost 0.14% (-58.66%)
06/03/2014 CA - District 43 - Open Primary Brandon M. Cook Lost 0.02% (-67.20%)
12/11/2012 Hot Mama of the Year Laurie Roth Lost 0.00% (-17.31%)
11/06/2012 US Vice President Robert Ornelas Lost 0.00% (-61.71%)
08/11/2012 CA US President - AIP Convention Virgil H. Goode, Jr. Lost 0.00% (-100.00%)
08/11/2012 CA US President - AIP Convention Tom Hoefling Won 100.00% (+100.00%)
06/05/2012 CA US President - AIP Primary Ed Noonan Won 38.74% (+1.37%)