Home About Chat Users Issues Party Candidates Polling Firms Media News Polls Calendar Key Races United States President Senate House Governors International

New User Account
"A historical political resource." 
Email: Password:

  Scottish Green
Last EditedRalphie - March 04, 2007 06:05pm
DescriptionThe Scottish Green Party was formed (as the Scottish Ecology Party) in 1979. In these early years it was part of the UK wide Ecology Party,which had been formed in 1974. In 1986 the Ecology Party became the Green Party.

Throughout the 1980s the Scottish Party developed its own campaigns and policy programme, culminating in the landmark programme and vision, "Towards a Green Scotland" in 1990. In the late 1980s the Scottish Green Party also began to have a marked impact in elections. This reached an early peak in the 1989 European elections, where the party achieved 7.5% over all of Scotland and over 10% in Lothian. Only the UK's adherence to first-past-the-post voting prevented Scottish Green MEPs joining other Green MEPs in the European Parliament.

In 1990 the Scottish Green Party became a separate party from the party in England and Wales (Northern Ireland also took this route later). The separation was entirely amicable, as part of the green commitment to
decentralisation and we still share campaigns and ideas as part of the Green islands network.

Title Purchase Contributor

Start Date End Date Type Title Contributor

Date Category Headline Article Contributor



06/08/2017 UK House of Commons - Popular Vote Scottish Green Party Lost 0.00% (-42.45%)
06/08/2017 UK Parliament - Edinburgh North & Leith Lorna Jane Slater Lost 3.05% (-30.97%)
06/08/2017 UK Parliament - Falkirk Debra Ann Pickering Lost 1.69% (-37.25%)
06/08/2017 UK Parliament - Glasgow North Patrick Harvie Lost 9.71% (-27.92%)
06/08/2017 UK Parliament - Scotland Scottish Green Party Lost 0.22% (-36.67%)
05/04/2017 Orkney Islands Council - Seat Distribution Scottish Green Party Lost 4.76% (-80.95%)
05/04/2017 Highland Council - Seat Distribution Scottish Green Party Lost 1.35% (-36.49%)
05/04/2017 Edinburgh City Council - Seat Distribution Scottish Green Party Lost 12.70% (-17.46%)
05/04/2017 Aberdeenshire Council - Seat Distribution Scottish Green Party Lost 1.43% (-31.43%)
05/04/2017 Glasgow City Council - Seat Distribution Scottish Green Party Lost 8.24% (-37.65%)
05/04/2017 Stirling Council - Seat Distribution Scottish Green Party Lost 4.35% (-34.78%)
05/04/2017 Glasgow City Council - Newlands/Auldburn Charles Gay Lost 5.81% (-20.06%)
05/04/2017 Aberdeen City Council - Hilton/Woodside/Stockethill Peter Kennedy Lost 4.10% (-21.20%)
05/04/2017 Edinburgh City Council - Colinton/Fairmilehead Sara Marsden Lost 4.28% (-28.97%)
05/04/2017 Edinburgh City Council - Portobello/Craigmillar Mary Campbell Won 15.10% (-7.70%)
05/04/2017 Aberdeen City Council - Tillydrone/Seaton/Old Aberdeen Alex Arthur Lost 5.53% (-21.42%)
05/04/2017 Edinburgh City Council - Fountainbridge/Craiglockhart Gavin Corbett Won 27.61% (-4.19%)
05/04/2017 Glasgow City Council - Linn Alan Digney Lost 3.27% (-15.43%)
05/04/2017 Edinburgh City Council - Almond Iain McKinnon-Waddell Lost 2.64% (-40.15%)
05/04/2017 Aberdeen City Council - Midstocket/Rosemount Alex Jarvis Lost 5.38% (-22.33%)