Home About Chat Users Issues Party Candidates Polling Firms Media News Polls Calendar Key Races United States President Senate House Governors International

New User Account
"A historical political resource." 
Email: Password:

  Federal Redistribution: NSW Draft Electoral Boundaries
Parent(s) Container 
ContributorKarma Policeman 
Last EditedKarma Policeman  Sep 25, 2009 02:01pm
Logged 0
AuthorAntony Green
News DateFriday, August 7, 2009 07:00:00 PM UTC0:0
DescriptionNote:The National Party won 5 NSW seats at the 2007 election, but lost the seat of Lyne to Independent Rob Oakeshott at a 2008 by-election.

Key Features of this Morning's Newspaper Coverage (Update 8 August)

If you check page 4 of this morning's Australian, you will note it has mined the analysis below as the basis of its coverge, but given no credit for source. It is a bit rich of The Australia to rip-off my dot points and re-write them and not source where the information came from. I know News Corp had to announce big losses this week, but that's no excuse for not even a cursory acknowledgement of sources. It may not be a word for word rip-off, but it still comes pretty close to plagiarism. Always acknowledge your sources!!

If you want to check the details of the new boundaries, they can be found at the Australian Electoral Commission's website.

Key Features of Boundary Changes

* The western Sydney seat of Reid has been abolished. It has been held since 1990 by Labor's Laurie Ferguson.
* The inner-western suburbs seat of Lowe has been re-named McMahon after former Prime Minister Sir William McMahon, who represented the seat from 1949-82.
* Malcolm Turnbull's seat of Wentworth is unchanged.
* Labor's star recruit Maxine Mckew has been strengthened slighty in Bennelong, the seat she gained by defeating former Prime Minister John Howard in 2007.
* The massive change has been the removal of Bathurst and Lithgow from Macquarie. This reduces the Labor margin in Macquarie from 7.0% to 0.1%. Labor MP Bob Debus is retiring at the 2010 election. The redistribution returns Macquarie to the boundaries it held before the 2007 election.
* The National held seat of Calare also goes from safe National to marginal National after gaining Bathurst and Lithgow.
* As a consequence of the change to Macquarie, Greenway pushes back towards Blacktown. It is currently held by Liberal Louise Markus. Her Liberal margin of 4.5% has been wiped
ArticleRead Full Article

Date Category Headline Article Contributor