Home About Chat Users Issues Party Candidates Polling Firms Media News Polls Calendar Key Races United States President Senate House Governors International

New User Account
"A historical political resource." 
Email: Password:

  Saskatchewan - Party Registration History
Parents > Canada > Saskatchewan  
Established 00, 0000
Disbanded Still Active
Last ModifiedCampari_007 October 22, 2012 08:04am
DescriptionSaskatchewan is the middle province of Canada's three prairie provinces. It joined Confederation on September 1, 1905.

Saskatchewan is (approximately) a quadrilateral bounded on the west by Alberta, on the north by the Northwest Territories, on the east by Manitoba, and on the south by the American states of Montana and North Dakota. It is one of only two provinces that are completely land-locked.

The population of the province is 985,386 as of July 1, 2006. It is the sixth-largest province by population. Most Saskatchewanians live in the southern half of the province.

The largest city is Saskatoon, followed by the province's capital, Regina. Other major cities include Prince Albert, Moose Jaw, Yorkton, Swift Current, North Battleford, Estevan, and Weyburn. Lloydminster is a very unique city that straddles the Saskatchewan-Alberta border. It has a population of 23,635, of which 15,487 (65.5%) live in Alberta and 8,148 (34.5%) live in Saskatchewan.

The current Premier of Saskatchewan is Hon. Brad Wall, Saskatchewan Party. The current Lieutenant Governor is Hon. Gordon Barnhart.

The province's name comes from the Saskatchewan River, whose name comes from its Cree designation: kisiskāciwani-sīpiy, meaning "swift flowing river".

Government logo:

Mar 03, 2018
SP27,125 (66.91%) NDP13,414 (33.08%)
Dec 18, 2017
SP27,125 (100%)