Home About Chat Users Issues Party Candidates Polling Firms Media News Polls Calendar Key Races United States President Senate House Governors International

New User Account
"A historical political resource." 
Email: Password:

  Vietnamese Communist
Last EditedRBH - April 22, 2019 12:49pm
DescriptionThe Communist Party of Vietnam (CPV)[a] is the founding and ruling political party of the Socialist Republic of Vietnam. Although nominally it exists alongside the Vietnamese Fatherland Front, it maintains a unitary government and has centralized control over the state, military, and media. The supremacy of the Communist Party is guaranteed by Article 4 of the national constitution. The current party's leader is Nguyễn Phú Trọng, who holds the titles of General Secretary of the Central Committee and Secretary of the Central Military Commission.
The party is known for the advocacy of what it calls a 'socialist-oriented market economy'. The highest institution of the CPV is the party's National Congress which elects the Central Committee. In between party congresses, the Central Committee is the supreme organ on party affairs. Immediately after a party congress, the Central Committee elects the Politburo and Secretariat, and appoints the First Secretary, the highest party office. In between sessions of the Central Committee, the Politburo is the supreme organ on party affairs. However, it can only implement decisions based upon the policies which have been approved in advance by either the Central Committee or the party's National Congress. As of 2017, the 12th Politburo comprises 19 members.

Title Purchase Contributor

Start Date End Date Type Title Contributor

Date Category Headline Article Contributor



10/23/2018 Vietnam President Nguyễn Phú Trọng Won 100.00% (+100.00%)
09/21/2018 Vietnam President - Acting Đặng Thị Ngọc Thịnh Won 100.00% (+100.00%)
05/22/2016 Vietnamese National Assembly Vietnamese Communist Won 96.07% (+92.15%)
04/07/2016 Vietnamese Prime Minister Nguyen Xuan Phuc Won 100.00% (+100.00%)
04/02/2016 Vietnam President Trần Đại Quang Won 98.18% (+96.76%)
07/25/2011 Vietnam President Truong Tan Sang Won 97.38% (+94.76%)
01/19/2011 General Secretary Nguyễn Phú Trọng Won 100.00% (+100.00%)
06/27/2006 Vietnam President Nguyen Minh Triet Won 100.00% (+100.00%)
08/09/2002 Vietnamese Prime Minister Phan Van Khai Won 100.00% (+100.00%)
04/22/2001 General Secretary Nong Duc Manh Won 100.00% (+100.00%)
04/22/2001 Vietnamese President Tran Duc Luong Won 100.00% (+100.00%)
12/29/1997 General Secretary Le Kha Phieu Won 100.00% (+100.00%)
09/24/1997 Vietnamese Prime Minister Phan Van Khai Won 100.00% (+100.00%)
09/24/1997 Vietnam President Tran Duc Luong Won 100.00% (+100.00%)
09/22/1992 Vietnam President Le Duc Anh Won 100.00% (+100.00%)
06/27/1991 General Secretary Do Muoi Won 100.00% (+100.00%)
12/18/1986 General Secretary Nguyen Van Linh Won 100.00% (+100.00%)
07/14/1986 General Secretary - Death Succession Truong Chinh Won 100.00% (+100.00%)
04/14/1982 General Secretary Le Duan Won 100.00% (+100.00%)
04/14/1976 General Secretary Le Duan Won 100.00% (+100.00%)