Home About Chat Users Issues Party Candidates Polling Firms Media News Polls Calendar Key Races United States President Senate House Governors International

New User Account
"A historical political resource." 
Email: Password:

  Indian National Lok Dal
Last EditedIndyGeorgia - November 30, 2019 08:32pm
DescriptionIndian National Lok Dal(INLD), a political party in India, in the state of Haryana is the principal opposition party in Haryana. INLD is a family based party with Om Prakash Chautala being the president & his elder son Ajay Singh Chautala being its Secretary General. The party was a member of the National Democratic Alliance (NDA), and thus part of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)-led government. Its leader Om Parkash Chautala is also Leader of Opposition in Haryana. In Rajasthan Choudhary Jai Narayan Poonia (ex-cabinate minister) was the Chairman of INLD from 2003 to 2008.

Since the demise of Devi Lal in April 2001, INLD had faced political decline and lost all the four consecutive general elections held so far in Haryana.[1] It lost two assembly general elections in 2005 & 2009. It has not won a single Lok Sabha seat since 1999 as it lost on all seats in 2004 & 2009. In 2009, INLD lost on all seats despite its poll alliance with BJP & it could get only 10.64 per cent votes.[2] INLD has always cherished national dreams. In 2004, INLD contested on 20 Lok Sabha seats in Haryana, Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh and Chandigarh, but 14 of those could not even secure their deposits and none of them could win. Its 10 candidates in Haryana could secure 22.43 per cent votes, its 5 candidates got 0.52 per cent votes in Rajasthan, its 4 candidates in Uttar Pradesh got 0.02 per cent votes only and its lone candidate in Chandigarh UT got 6.61 per cent votes.[3]

In the Lok Sabha elections 1999 INLD had an electoral alliance with BJP in Haryana. Each party contested five of the ten seats in the state. All ten got elected. In 2000 Chautala was elected as Chief Minister of Haryana for the fifth time. In the 2000 state assembly elections in 2000 INLD won 47 out of the 90 seats (in total the party had 62 candidates). Later INLD broke its relations with BJP, and left NDA and the government.

However, in the 2005 Haryana state assembly elections, INLD lost its majority, winning just 9 out of the 90 seats compared to the Congress party's 67 seats. 17 of its candidates lost deposits and despite all that INLD got 26.77 per cent votes in that election.[4] In 2009, the INLD led alliance sprung up a surprise by winning 32 seats (INLD won 31 & its ally SAD won one seat), but its vote share got reduced to 26.5 per cent and 24 INLD candidates lost deposit.[5] Despite all the defeats, INLD is considered a leading political party .

Title Purchase Contributor

Start Date End Date Type Title Contributor

Date Category Headline Article Contributor



10/21/2019 Haryana Legislative Assembly Indian National Lok Dal Lost 1.11% (-43.33%)
10/21/2019 Haryana Chief Minister Abhay Singh Chautala Lost 1.11% (-54.44%)
02/07/2015 Delhi Legislative Assembly - Popular Vote Indian National Lok Dal Lost 0.61% (-53.73%)
10/15/2014 Haryana Legislative Assembly Indian National Lok Dal Lost 21.11% (-31.11%)
10/15/2014 Haryana Chief Minister Om Prakash Chautala Lost 21.11% (-31.11%)
05/12/2014 India Lok Sabha - Popular Vote Indian National Lok Dal Lost 0.51% (-30.49%)
05/12/2014 India Lok Sabha Indian National Lok Dal Lost 0.37% (-51.57%)
12/04/2013 Delhi Legislative Assembly - Popular Vote Indian National Lok Dal Lost 0.57% (-32.50%)
10/13/2009 Haryana Legislative Assembly Indian National Lok Dal Lost 34.44% (-10.00%)
10/03/1999 India Lok Sabha Indian National Lok Dal Lost 0.62% (-32.80%)