Home About Chat Users Issues Party Candidates Polling Firms Media News Polls Calendar Key Races United States President Senate House Governors International

New User Account
"A comprehensive, collaborative elections resource." 
Email: Password:

Contributor411 Name Removed
Last EditedJuan Croniqueur - October 15, 2022 12:18pm
DescriptionThe Socialist Party (Parti Socialiste or PS) is the main opposition party in France. Although it has historically been a democratic socialist party, and still defines itself as such, most political scientists would say that it is now a social democratic party. It was founded in 1969. A democratic socialist party has existed in France under various names since 1880. For a century, however, it had only fleeting electoral success. In 1981, under Fran篩s Mitterrand, party won both the presidency and (with allies) a majority in the National Assembly for the first time, and was president for 14 years.

In 1984 Mitterrand and his second Prime Minister, Laurent Fabius, made a sharp change of course and abandoned any further socialist measures. Since then, the Socialists have been in practice a moderate social democratic party, largely embracing the market economy. Because of this, the Socialist party is often criticized by groups further to the left (Lutte Ouvri貥, Revolutionary Communist League, Parti des Travailleurs...) as being no more a truly left-wing party (see social-traitor). Another point of view is that the French Socialist Party aims at governing the country, while such groups only aim at being a vocal opposition in the hope of some hypothetical Communist revolution.

At the 1995 presidential election, Mitterrand retired, and the Socialist candidate, Lionel Jospin, was defeated by Jacques Chirac. In 1997, however, the Socialists gained a majority in the National Assembly and Jospin became Prime Minister, following a policy that was broadly progressive but had little to do with socialism as traditionally understood. Chirac again defeated Jospin in the presidential elections of 2002, and Jospin then retired from politics. Later in 2002 the Socialists were defeated by Chirac's allies in parliamentary elections. In the 2004 regional elections, however, the Socialists had a major comeback. In coalition with the Greens and Communists, they gained power in 21 of the 22 regions. The leader of the Socialist Party is now its secretary-general, Fran篩s Hollande.

Title Purchase Contributor

Start Date End Date Type Title Contributor

Date Category Headline Article Contributor
Jun 04, 2005 10:00am News French Socialists oust 'No' camp  Article User 13 



01/19/2023 French Socialist Party - First Secretary Olivier Faure Won 50.83% (+1.65%)
01/19/2023 French Socialist Party - First Secretary Nicolas Mayer-Rossignol Lost 49.17% (-1.65%)
01/19/2023 French Socialist Party - First Secretary Hélène Geoffroy Lost 0.00% (-50.83%)
06/28/2022 French National Assembly President Fatiha Keloua-Hachi Lost 31.17% (-21.21%)
06/19/2022 French National Assembly - Ille-et-Vilaine 8th (Runoff) Mickaël Bouloux Won 57.97% (+15.94%)
06/19/2022 French National Assembly - Val-de-Marne 9th (Runoff) Isabelle Santiago Won 67.25% (+34.50%)
06/19/2022 French National Assembly - Haute-Garonne 8th (Runoff) Joël Aviragnet Won 60.39% (+20.78%)
06/19/2022 French National Assembly - Côtes-d'Armor 3rd (Runoff) Antoine Ravard Lost 35.13% (-29.74%)
06/19/2022 French National Assembly - Meurthe-et-Moselle 5th (Runoff) Dominique Potier Won 63.12% (+26.24%)
06/19/2022 French National Assembly - Hauts-de-Seine 13th (Runoff) Brice Gaillard Lost 40.89% (-18.23%)
06/19/2022 French National Assembly - Drôme 4th (Runoff) Pierre Jouvet Lost 42.10% (-15.81%)
06/19/2022 French National Assembly - Moselle 9th (Runoff) Brigitte Vaisse Lost 44.97% (-10.05%)
06/19/2022 French National Assembly - Gironde 4th (Runoff) Alain David Won 59.73% (+19.45%)
06/19/2022 French National Assembly - Landes 3rd (Runoff) Boris Vallaud Won 59.93% (+19.86%)
06/19/2022 French National Assembly - Meurthe-et-Moselle 2nd (Runoff) Stéphane Hablot Lost 49.74% (-0.53%)
06/19/2022 French National Assembly - Finistère 6th (Runoff) Mélanie Thomin Won 50.85% (+1.71%)
06/19/2022 French National Assembly - Pas-de-Calais 12th (Runoff) Jérôme Darras Lost 43.70% (-12.59%)
06/19/2022 French National Assembly - Gironde 6th (Runoff) Vanessa Fergeau-Renaux Lost 48.15% (-3.71%)
06/19/2022 French National Assembly - Ardèche 1st (Runoff) Hervé Saulignac Won 60.05% (+20.09%)
06/19/2022 French National Assembly - Morbihan 1st (Runoff) Luc Foucault Lost 40.75% (-18.50%)