Home About Chat Users Issues Party Candidates Polling Firms Media News Polls Calendar Key Races United States President Senate House Governors International

"A historical political resource." 
Email: Password:

  Movement for Democratic Change
Last EditedBojicat - January 07, 2021 11:10am
DescriptionOpposition party launched by former President Morgan Tsvangirai who became its president in January 26, 2000.

Party splintered into a number of pieces over the years, ignited by the interference of dictator Robert Mugabe's ruling ZANU-PF party in 2006, which used divide-and-conquer tactics to entice MDC members into cooperation. Party was split at first into two factions, one led by Morgan Tsvangirai (MDC-Tsvangirai), and an accommodationist faction led by Gibson Sibanda (faction held on to the MDC name).

After Tsvangirai's death on February 14, 2018, a quick effort was made to unite the MDC splinter groups into an "MDC Alliance" ahead of elections held in July 2018, with Nelson Chamisa, the Acting President of the MDC-T Party since February 7, 2018, chosen as the Alliance's Presidential candidate.

Chamisa subsequently solicited the union and dissolution of all other MDC splinter groups into one new party called the "Movement for Democratic Change (2018)" launched on September 15, 2018.

The old Movement for Democratic Change led by Gibson Sibanda (passed away in 2010) was absorbed and dissolved into the new party the same day.

Title Purchase Contributor

Start Date End Date Type Title Contributor

Date Category Headline Article Contributor
Aug 04, 2013 05:00pm Analysis Zimbabwe's MDC struggles for survival after election disaster  Article IndyGeorgia 



09/11/2018 ZW Speaker of the House Paurina Mupariwa Lost 30.62% (-38.76%)
09/11/2018 ZIM President of the Senate Morgen Komichi Lost 29.73% (-40.54%)
07/31/2013 ZIM House of Assembly - Harare East Stanley Chivige Lost 4.10% (-47.34%)
07/31/2013 ZIM House of Assembly - Harare Central Columbus Sibanda Lost 5.95% (-47.72%)
02/13/2009 ZIM Minister of Water Resources Joel Gabuza Won 100.00% (+100.00%)
02/13/2009 ZIM Minister of Energy & Power Development Elton Mangoma Won 100.00% (+100.00%)
02/13/2009 ZIM Minister of Economic Planning & Investment Promotion Elton Mangoma Won 100.00% (+100.00%)
02/11/2009 Zimbabwe Prime Minister Morgan Tsvangirai Won 100.00% (+100.00%)
02/11/2009 Zimbabwe Deputy Prime Minister Thokozani Khupe Won 50.00% (+0.00%)
08/25/2008 ZIM Senate President Gibson Sibanda Lost 32.56% (-34.88%)
06/27/2008 Zimbabwe President - Runoff Morgan Tsvangirai Lost 9.36% (-75.95%)
03/29/2008 Zimbabwe President Morgan Tsvangirai Won 47.87% (+4.64%)
03/29/2008 Zimbabwe House of Assembly - Popular Vote Movement for Democratic Change Won 51.34% (+5.48%)
03/29/2008 Zimbabwe House of Assembly Movement for Democratic Change Won 52.66% (+5.80%)
11/26/2005 Zimbabwe Senate Movement for Democratic Change Lost 10.61% (-54.55%)
03/31/2005 ZIM House of Assembly - Hwange West Jealous Sansole Won 68.01% (+36.02%)
03/31/2005 ZIM House of Assembly - Mangwe Edward M. Mkhosi Won 63.93% (+27.87%)
03/31/2005 ZIM House of Assembly - Budiriro Gilbert Shoko Won 77.73% (+55.46%)
03/31/2005 ZIM House of Assembly - Gokwe Sengwa Tongai Choga Lost 33.55% (-32.90%)
03/31/2005 ZIM House of Assembly - Harare South James Mushonga Lost 48.14% (-3.72%)