Home About Chat Users Issues Party Candidates Polling Firms Media News Polls Calendar Key Races United States President Senate House Governors International

New User Account
"A historical political resource." 
Email: Password:

CountryNorthern Ireland
ContributorThomas Walker
Last EditedRBH - October 18, 2021 01:45am
Description"Unity" was the political label for a series of electoral pacts by Irish nationalist, Irish Republican and socialist candidates in Northern Ireland elections in the late 1960s and early 1970s. It also contested elections as a party in its own right, electing six councillors in the 1973 local council elections in the Fermanagh and Dungannon areas, although this was reduced to two members of Fermanagh council in the next election in 1977.

The first victory came in 1969 in the Mid Ulster by-election which was won by the radical student Bernadette Devlin. She held her seat in the 1970 general election, when Fermanagh and South Tyrone was won by her colleague Frank McManus. Due to realignments in nationalist politics and opposition to Devlin's radical political and social views, both lost their seats in the February 1974 general election. Bernadette would later go on to join the IRSP

In the October 1974 general election the spirit of Unity was revived, if not the name, when Frank Maguire won Fermanagh and South Tyrone as an agreed independent Republican. He held the seat until his death in 1981. In 1978 Unity merged with the remnants of the Nationalist Party to form the Irish Independence Party.

Title Purchase Contributor

Start Date End Date Type Title Contributor

Date Category Headline Article Contributor



02/28/1974 UK Parliament - Fermanagh & South Tyrone Frank McManus Lost 29.16% (-8.30%)
02/28/1974 UK Parliament - Armagh Hugh Lewis Lost 2.21% (-51.54%)
06/18/1970 UK Parliament - Mid-Ulster Bernadette McAliskey Won 53.52% (+8.41%)
06/18/1970 UK Parliament - Popular Vote Unity Party of Northern Ireland Lost 0.50% (-45.94%)
06/18/1970 UK Parliament - Seat Distribution Unity Party of Northern Ireland Lost 0.32% (-52.06%)
06/18/1970 UK Parliament - Fermanagh & South Tyrone Frank McManus Won 51.13% (+2.25%)
06/18/1970 UK Parliament - Londonderry Eddie McAteer Lost 36.64% (-16.46%)
06/18/1970 UK Parliament - Armagh Hugh Lewis Lost 31.84% (-23.44%)
06/18/1970 UK Parliament - South Down Hugh Golding Lost 33.70% (-20.55%)
04/17/1969 UK Parliament - Mid-Ulster - By-Election Bernadette McAliskey Won 53.34% (+6.68%)
03/31/1966 UK Parliament - Fermanagh & South Tyrone James J. Donnelly Lost 26.94% (-27.05%)