Home About Chat Users Issues Party Candidates Polling Firms Media News Polls Calendar Key Races United States President Senate House Governors International

New User Account
"A historical political resource." 
Email: Password:

  Social Democrat
ContributorUser 13
Last EditedRalphie - July 07, 2011 11:37pm
DescriptionSocial Democratic and Farmer Alternative (in Spanish: Alternativa Socialdemócrata y Campesina) is a Mexican political party of recent formation.

The party started as an alliance of two political leaders: Ignacio Irys and Patricia Mercado. However, most of its members come from four extinct parties: the Social Democracy Party led by Gilberto Rincón Gallardo(which lost its registration as an officially recognized party by barely 20,000 votes in the 2000 election), México Posible led by Patricia Mercado, Fuerza Ciudadana and the Partido Campesino y Popular.

According to the documents submitted to the Federal Electoral Institute (IFE), the party has 214,314 members as of July 14, 2005, and it defines itself as a New Left party. Current party president is Alberto Begné Guerra and her vicepresident is Ignacio Irys Salomon.

Former México Posible leader and feminist activist Patricia Mercado is one of the party founders. She is currently her party's presidential candidate for the 2006 elections.

Title Purchase Contributor

Start Date End Date Type Title Contributor

Date Category Headline Article Contributor



06/05/2016 Oaxaca Governor Manuel Pérez Morales Lost 1.58% (-30.50%)
06/07/2015 Cuernavaca Mayor Cuauhtémoc Blanco Bravo Won 26.78% (+5.65%)
07/01/2012 Morelos Governor Julio César Yáñez Moreno Lost 3.71% (-39.76%)
07/01/2012 Cuernavaca Mayor Noel Salgado Mora Lost 2.68% (-38.54%)
07/04/2010 Tuxtla Gutierrez Mayor Mario Santos Solís Lost 1.73% (-51.73%)
12/05/2009 Hot Mama of the Year Brenda Arenas Lost 5.47% (-11.94%)
07/05/2009 Nuevo León Governor Ernesto Villarreal Landeros Lost 0.32% (-48.68%)
07/05/2009 Sonora Governor Francisco Casanova Hernandez Lost 0.61% (-47.19%)
07/05/2009 Querétaro Governor Pedro Pérez Sosa Lost 0.34% (-47.14%)
07/05/2009 MEX Chamber of Deputies - Morelos District 2 Prócoro Verástegui Idarza Lost 2.21% (-23.06%)
07/05/2009 MEX Chamber of Deputies - Puebla District 10 Alejandro Villaseñor Viveros Lost 1.06% (-31.91%)
07/05/2009 MEX Chamber of Deputies - Guerrero District 9 Emmanuel Herrera López Lost 1.07% (-40.15%)
07/05/2009 MEX Chamber of Deputies - Aguascalientes District 3 Liliana Cruz Elizondo Lost 1.06% (-30.82%)
07/05/2009 MEX Chamber of Deputies - Coahuila Social Democratic and Farmer Alternative Lost 0.36% (-60.88%)
07/05/2009 MEX Chamber of Deputies - Sinaloa District 6 Jesús Reyna Cuevas López Lost 0.78% (-47.07%)
07/05/2009 MEX Chamber of Deputies - Guanajuato District 5 Horacio de la Vega Pohls Lost 0.55% (-46.40%)
07/05/2009 MEX Chamber of Deputies - Baja California District 8 Francisco Osegueda Pámaro Lost 1.46% (-34.29%)
07/05/2009 MEX Chamber of Deputies - Distrito Federal District 25 Francisco Isidro González Serralde Lost 3.09% (-25.65%)
07/05/2009 MEX Chamber of Deputies - Sinaloa District 2 Alejandro Coronel Urquídez Lost 0.64% (-41.86%)
07/05/2009 MEX Chamber of Deputies - Nayarit District 1 Eduardo Valenzuela Alba Lost 0.62% (-41.75%)