Home About Chat Users Issues Party Candidates Polling Firms Media News Polls Calendar Key Races United States President Senate House Governors International

New User Account
"A historical political resource." 
Email: Password:

  Progressive Liberal
CountryBahamas, The
Last EditedIndyGeorgia - September 15, 2021 10:33pm
DescriptionLong-time dominant, populist, Socialist party led by MP Philip Brave Davis since October 2017.

The PLP was the first party created in the Bahamas, emerging in 1953 as a voice for Bahamians of African descent. An opposition party was launched in 1958 in response called the United Bahamian Party (UBP), controlled by British-descended politicians.

A battle between the two parties reached a climax after the election of 1967, when the PLP, under Lynden Pindling, was able to form a majority government.

Pindling socialized the economy, expelled foreign workers and set into motion Bahamian independence, which was declared on July 10, 1973. The PLP cracked the opposition into virtual nonexistence and held on to one-party rule for 25 years.

Party was finally ousted in the elections of 1992 after a number of former PLP members, alienated by the perceived authoritarian direction of the party, joined the UBP to form a new party called the Free National Movement (FNM).

The PLP re-emerged to take power from 2002 to 2007 and again in 2012 when it won the majority by a landslide, taking 30 out of the 38 seats in parliament.

Party then collapsed to just 4 seats after the May 10, 2017 elections and has been in opposition since.

Title Purchase Contributor

Start Date End Date Type Title Contributor

Date Category Headline Article Contributor



09/16/2021 Bahamas Prime Minister Philip "Brave" Davis Won 79.41% (+58.82%)
09/16/2021 Bahamas MP - Elizabeth JoBeth Coleby Davis Won 48.91% (+9.74%)
09/16/2021 Bahamas MP - Killarney Ronald C. Duncombe Lost 39.91% (-11.33%)
09/16/2021 Bahamas MP - North Abaco Kirk Cornish Won 42.18% (+8.13%)
09/16/2021 Bahamas MP - St. Barnabas Michael Halkitis Lost 45.15% (-3.83%)
09/16/2021 Bahamas MP - Bamboo Town Patricia Deveaux Won 52.10% (+18.77%)
09/16/2021 Bahamas MP - Englerston Glenys Hanna-Martin Won 75.32% (+58.64%)
09/16/2021 Bahamas MP - Long Island Tyrel Young Lost 43.29% (-11.61%)
09/16/2021 Bahamas MP - North Andros & Berry Islands Leonardo Lightbourne Won 55.55% (+12.89%)
09/16/2021 Bahamas MP - Tall Pines Michael Darville Won 57.93% (+29.34%)
09/16/2021 Bahamas MP - Carmichael Keith Bell Won 48.79% (+8.10%)
09/16/2021 Bahamas MP - Fort Charlotte Alfred Sears Won 63.23% (+35.53%)
09/16/2021 Bahamas MP - Mangrove Cay & South Andros Leon Lundy Won 58.03% (+22.10%)
09/16/2021 Bahamas MP - Pineridge Ginger Moxey Won 40.05% (+6.98%)
09/16/2021 Bahamas MP - Exumas & Ragged Island Chester Cooper Won 72.59% (+45.62%)
09/16/2021 Bahamas MP - Cat Island, Rum Cay & San Salvador Philip "Brave" Davis Won 69.80% (+41.20%)
09/16/2021 Bahamas MP - Fox Hill Fred Mitchell Won 65.71% (+40.76%)
09/16/2021 Bahamas MP - Marathon Lisa Rahming Won 62.63% (+35.62%)
09/16/2021 Bahamas MP - Pinewood Myles K. Laroda Won 51.21% (+23.18%)
09/16/2021 Bahamas MP - Yamacraw Zane E. Lightbourne Won 50.37% (+9.40%)