Home About Chat Users Issues Party Candidates Polling Firms Media News Polls Calendar Key Races United States President Senate House Governors International

New User Account
"A historical political resource." 
Email: Password:

  DA, congressional primary highlight long ballot in Orleans Parish
Parent(s) Container 
ContributorBrandonius Maximus 
Last EditedBrandonius Maximus  Oct 04, 2008 09:04am
Logged 0
MediaNewspaper - New Orleans Times-Picayune
News DateSaturday, October 4, 2008 03:00:00 PM UTC0:0
DescriptionOrleans Parish residents go to the polls today to cast votes in crowded 2nd Congressional District and district attorney primary races.

Voters also will cast ballots in various court and School Board races and decide a pair of propositions, one affecting a criminal justice construction program and another to protect the city's newly created inspector general's office.

Meanwhile, New Orleans voters will join many others in the region in casting ballots in the 1st District Public Service Commission primary.

In neighboring St. Bernard Parish, the ballot will feature candidates for a Parish Council seat, a proposed motel occupancy tax and a host of constable and justice of the peace races.

Polls open at 6 a.m. and close at 8 p.m., and voters should bring a picture ID. Those waiting in line at 8 p.m. will be allowed to vote.

Under new state rules, federal primaries are divided by party. Registered Democrats and registered independents can vote in the Democratic primary, while only registered Republicans can vote in the GOP primary.

In the 2nd Congressional District race, Democratic incumbent Rep. William Jefferson, who is awaiting trial on federal corruption charges, is fighting to secure a runoff slot.

His challengers, all Democrats, are New Orleans City Councilman James Carter, former New Orleans City Councilman Troy Carter, Jefferson Parish Councilman Byron Lee, former TV news anchor Helena Moreno, state Rep. Cedric Richmond and Kenya Smith, a former top aide to New Orleans Mayor Ray Nagin.

There is no Republican primary because only one GOP candidate qualified.
ArticleRead Full Article

Date Category Headline Article Contributor