Home About Chat Users Issues Party Candidates Polling Firms Media News Polls Calendar Key Races United States President Senate House Governors International

New User Account
"A historical political resource." 
Email: Password:

  AFL-CIO Florida
CategoryLabor Union
Last Modifiede. dantes April 06, 2012 11:21pm
DescriptionWe are the Florida AFL-CIO. We're here for you. We presently have about 450 affiliated local unions from 41 national and international unions. Over fifty councils are also affiliated. We represent over 500,000 active and retired Florida workers living in our state.

Our primary activities are political and legislative action, mobilization, and organizing support. Other areas of concern include job training, safety and health programs, and community services.

Our governing body is the state Biennial Convention, held on odd-numbered years. In even-numbered years, a COPE Convention is held to consider political endorsements and support or opposition to constitutional ballot and legislative issues. Conventions establish the broad policies that guide the Florida AFL-CIO.

Every four years, the Biennial Convention elects the President and Secretary-Treasurer who are the Executive Officers. Every two years at the Biennial Convention, District Vice-Presidents, Union Vice-Presidents and Vice-Presidents-at-Large are elected. The Vice-Presidents and the Executive Officers constitute the Executive Board of the Florida AFL-CIO. Between conventions, the Executive Board is the governing body.

The Florida AFL-CIO was formed in 1958 with the merger of the Florida American Federation of Labor and the Florida Congress of Industrial Organizations. In 1974, the Florida AFL-CIO purchased the building it now occupies at 135 South Monroe Street, Tallahassee, in close proximity to the State Capitol. The building houses the federation's president, secretary-treasurer and staff. It also serves as office and meeting space for labor lobbyists from throughout the state who participate in the United Labor Lobby.

Date Category Headline Article Contributor

FL District 17 - D Primary - Aug 24, 2010 D Frederica S. Wilson
FL Governor - D Primary - Aug 24, 2010 D Alex Sink
FL US Senate - D Primary - Aug 24, 2010 D Kendrick B. Meek
FL - District 22 - Nov 02, 2004 D Robin Rorapaugh
FL US Senate - D Primary - Aug 31, 2004 D Betty Castor
FL US Senate - D Primary - Aug 31, 2004 D Peter R. Deutsch