Home About Chat Users Issues Party Candidates Polling Firms Media News Polls Calendar Key Races United States President Senate House Governors International

New User Account
"A historical political resource." 
Email: Password:

  U.S. Postal Service (USPS)
NamePatrick R. Donahoe
Votes1 (100.00%)
Margin1 (+100.00%)
Term01/14/2011 - 01/01/2020
  Deputy Postmaster General  Ronald A. Stroman 0 11 +100.00%
Board Leadership
 USPS Board Chairman 
 USPS Board Vice Chair 
Board of Governors
 USPS Governor 
 USPS Governor 
 USPS Governor 
 USPS Governor 
 USPS Governor 
 USPS Governor 
 USPS Governor 
 USPS Governor 
 USPS Governor 

Institutions DETAILS
Parents > United States > Independent Agencies  
Established July 01, 1971
Disbanded Still Active
Last ModifiedScott³ June 10, 2008 04:36am
The Post Office Department is the former name of the United States Postal Service when
it was a Cabinet department. It was headed by the United States Postmaster General.

On September 22, 1789, President Washington signed the Postal Service Act (1 Stat. 70)
establishing the Department. Postmaster General John McLean was the first to call it the
Post Office Department rather than just the "Post Office." The department gained added
importance in 1829 when President Andrew Jackson invited his Postmaster General,
William T. Barry, to sit as a member of the Cabinet.

The Postal Reorganization Act signed by President Richard Nixon on August 12, 1970,
replaced the cabinet-level Post Office Department with the independent United States
Postal Service. The Act took effect on July 1, 1971.

U.S. Post Office -- September 22, 1789 to March 9, 1829.
(Prior to becoming a cabinet level department)... [Link]
U.S. Post Office Department -- March 9, 1829 to July 1, 1971.
(Cabinet-Level Department) ... [Link]

Postmaster General
The United States Postmaster General is the executive head of the United States Postal
Service. The office, in one form or another, is older than both the U.S. Constitution and
the Declaration of Independence. Benjamin Franklin was appointed by the Continental
Congress as the first Postmaster General, serving slightly longer than 15 months.

In 1971, when the U.S. Postal Service was organized as an independent agency, the
Postmaster General no longer remained a member of the Cabinet and no longer in line
to be President. The Postmaster General is chosen by the nine presidentially appointed
Governors of the United States Postal Service.

Board of Governors
The Board of Governors of the U.S. Postal Service is comparable to a board of directors
of a private corporation. The Board includes nine Governors who are appointed by the
President and requiring Senate confirmation. To organize and conduct their meetings,
a Chairman and a Vice Chairman are elected from among the members of the Board.

The Governors of the Postal Service are appointed for terms of seven years (nine years
prior to 2006). Each Governor’s term expires on December 8 of a given year. Governors
may continue to serve following expiration of their term or until a successor is appointed,
but not for more than one year. No person may serve more than two terms as a Governor.
Not more than five of the nine may belong to the same political party.

Polls Close Description Takes Office





Start Date End Date Type Title Contributor

Title Purchase Contributor

Date Category Headline Article Contributor
Dec 11, 2018 12:10pm Strategy Trump plan to revive the U.S. Postal Service: Sell access to your mailbox  Article RP 
May 18, 2018 12:30pm Strategy Trump personally pushed postmaster general to double rates on Amazon, other firms  Article RP 
Apr 13, 2018 11:00am General Trump convenes task force to study US Postal Service  Article RP 
Feb 06, 2013 07:30am Rule Change U.S. Postal Service to End Saturday Mail Delivery  Article Homegrown Democrat 
Mar 01, 2012 04:25pm Op-Ed by Candidate Save the Postal Service   Article Jason 
Oct 31, 2011 08:00am Poll Poll: Mail 5 days a week OK  Article Jason