Home About Chat Users Issues Party Candidates Polling Firms Media News Polls Calendar Key Races United States President Senate House Governors International

New User Account
"A historical political resource." 
Email: Password:

City Government
  Mayor of Methuen  Neil P. Perry 1 19 +41.10%
 Methuen City Council   
 Methuen School Committee   
 US President   
Class President / Student Council
 MHS Elections   
U.S. Senator
 Methuen, Massachusetts - U.S. Senator   
School Board
 Methuen Public School System Superintendent   

% Of Total VotesOfficeMethuen WinnerYrMethuen Votes% of Sub% Vs. Full Race
0.64% Governor   Charles D. Baker, Jr. 18 12,919 74.93% +8.33%
0.70% President   Hillary Clinton 16 11,662 50.29% -9.72%
0.70% Senate Class II   Edward J. Markey 20 14,897 59.29% -6.86%

Parents > United States > Massachusetts > Counties > Essex  
Website [Link]
Established December 08, 1725
Disbanded Still Active
ContributorThomas Walker
Last ModifiedScott³ December 31, 2005 08:31pm
Description HISTORY

The Town of Methuen was originally organized as a town in 1725 when Lt. Stephen
Barker petitioned to divide the Town of Haverhill. Governor Dummer signed the act
establishing the Town of Methuen, naming the town in honor of Sir Paul Methuen,
a friend of the Governor’s and member of the King’s Privy Council. The first Town
Meeting was held March 9, 1726.

Methuen operated under the Town Meeting form of government until 1917 when the
state Legislature allowed the town to organize as a city. In 1921 the Supreme
Judicial Court found that the City Charter had not been appropriately adopted under
the constitution of the Commonwealth. Methuen reverted to its status as a town
and established a Charter setting a Selectman/Representative Town Meeting
government. That Charter remained in effect until 1973 when Methuen’s first Home
Rule Charter became effective establishing a 21 member Town Council and Town
Manager. Methuen’s second Home Rule Charter in 1978 maintained the Town
Manager/Town council form of government, but reduced the number of councilors
to nine and increased the powers of the Council. Another Charter change approved
by Methuen voters in 1993 replaced the appointed Town Manager with an elected
Mayor. When he took office in Jan. 1994, Mayor Dennis DiZoglio became Methuen’s
first Mayor Since 1921.

Mayor DiZoglio’s successor, Sharon M. Pollard took office January 3, 2000.


County Essex
Population 1980: 36,701
--------------- 1990: 39,990
--------------- 2000: 43,789
Established as a Town December 8, 1725 (Resumed as a town--1921)
Obtained City Charter 1917, and again in 1972.
Type of Government Mayor / City Council


Methuen's Home Rule Charter, as amended in 1993, provides for a city goverment
with the elected Mayor serving as executive & a nine-member City Council serving
as legislative body. The Mayor, whose term is two years, is responsible for
overseeing daily functioning of government departments. The Council, In addition
to establishing city ordinances, has authority to approve such matters as contracts
and appointments. The Council and seven-member School Committee are elected
by city voters for two-year terms.


Polls Close Description Takes Office




Start Date End Date Type Title Contributor

Title Purchase Contributor

Date Category Headline Article Contributor