Home About Chat Users Issues Party Candidates Polling Firms Media News Polls Calendar Key Races United States President Senate House Governors International

New User Account
"A historical political resource." 
Email: Password:

NameWayne David
Votes18,018 (44.91%)
Margin6,833 (+17.03%)
Term12/13/2019 - 05/02/2024

Parliament DETAILS
Parents > United Kingdom > Wales > Wales  
Established 00, 0000
Disbanded Still Active
Last ModifiedWishful Thinking May 12, 2005 06:37pm
Description Former MEP Wayne David took this seat comfortably in 2001 following Ron Davies' high profile fall from Welsh politics. Mr Davies was Welsh secretary from 1997 and led the pro-devolution campaign that year. But he was forced to resign from Tony Blair's cabinet, and as leader of the Welsh Labour Party following his much-publicised "moment of madness" on Clapham Common. Nevertheless, in 1999 he topped the poll to represent Caerphilly in the National Assembly, but remained a backbencher until another incident just weeks before the new assembly elections in 2003. This effectively ended his political career. Through all of this, the constituency has remained loyal to Labour, electing the local party chairman, Jeff Cuthbert, to the National Assembly. In the 2004 local elections, Labour secured an overall majority on Caerphilly Council, ending five years of Plaid Cymru rule. Caerphilly is also famous for its cheese and its castle. The constituency extends from the outskirts of Cardiff in the south to the border of the Brecon Beacons in the north. While large parts remain a traditional Valleys seat, the southern part in particular has seen a growth in new housing, with many residents commuting to Cardiff and Newport. The seat, which comprises the town of Caerphilly and much of the Rhymney Valley to the north, was traditionally dependent on the coal industry, and has suffered unemployment problems in recent years.




Click For More History Details

Polls Close Description Takes Office




Start Date End Date Type Title Contributor

Title Purchase Contributor

Date Category Headline Article Contributor