Home About Chat Users Issues Party Candidates Polling Firms Media News Polls Calendar Key Races United States President Senate House Governors International

New User Account
"A historical political resource." 
Email: Password:

Provincial Government
  Premier  Stanley Mathabatha 2 19 +61.22%
  Provincial Legislature  African National Congress 0 19 +62.00%
 Capricorn District Municipality   
 Mopani District Municipality   
 Sekhukhune District Municipality   
 Vhembe District Municipality   
 Waterberg District Municipality   
  National Assembly  African National Congress 0 19 +63.86%
Party Leadership
 ANC Limpopo Leader   

% Of Total VotesOfficeLimpopo WinnerYrLimpopo Votes% of Sub% Vs. Full Race

Central District, Botswana  
Gauteng, South Africa  
Gaza Province, Mozambique  
Kgatleng District, Botswana  
Masvingo, Zimbabwe  
Matabeleland South, Zimbabwe  
Mpumalanga, South Africa  
North West Province, South Africa  

Province DETAILS
Parents > South Africa  
Alternate NamesNorthern Province (1995-2003)
Established April 29, 1994
Disbanded Still Active
Last ModifiedIndyGeorgia April 28, 2020 11:22am
Description Limpopo, South Africa’s northernmost province, borders onto Mozambique, Zimbabwe and Botswana. It also borders the Mpumalanga, Gauteng and North West provinces. Named after the Limpopo River, which flows along its northern border, it is a region of contrasts, from true Bushveld country to majestic mountains, primeval indigenous forests, unspoiled wilderness and patchworks of farmland. In the eastern region lies the northern half of the magnificent Kruger National Park.

Limpopo ranks fifth in South Africa in both surface area and population, covering an area of 125 754km² and being home to a population of 5 404 868. The capital is Polokwane (previously Pietersburg). Other major cities and towns include Bela-Bela (Warmbad), Lephalale (Ellisras), Makhado (Louis Trichardt), Musina (Messina), Thabazimbi and Tzaneen.

Mining is the primary driver of economic activity. Limpopo is rich in mineral deposits, including platinum-group metals, iron ore, chromium, high and middle-grade coking coal, diamonds, antimony, phosphate and copper, as well as mineral reserves such as gold, emeralds, scheelite, magnetite, vermiculite, silicon and mica. The province is a typical developing area, exporting primary products and importing manufactured goods and services.

The climatic conditions in the province allow for double harvesting seasons, which results in it being the largest producer of various crops in the agricultural market. Sunflowers, cotton, maize and peanuts are cultivated in the Bela-Bela–Modimolle area. Bananas, litchis, pineapples, mangoes and pawpaws, as well as a variety of nuts, are grown in the Tzaneen and Makhado areas. Extensive tea and coffee plantations create many employment opportunities in the Tzaneen area. The Bushveld is cattle country, where controlled hunting is often combined with ranching.

Limpopo is divided into five district municipalities, which are further subdivided into 22 local municipalities.

SA-LP District Municipalities (2006-Present) Mar 1, 2006-

Click For History Details

Polls Close Description Takes Office




Start Date End Date Type Title Contributor

Title Purchase Contributor

Date Category Headline Article Contributor