Home About Chat Users Issues Party Candidates Polling Firms Media News Polls Calendar Key Races United States President Senate House Governors International

New User Account
"A historical political resource." 
Email: Password:

Provincial Government
  Premier  Sihle Zikalala 1 19 +38.75%
  Provincial Legislature  African National Congress 0 19 +38.75%
 Amajuba District Municipality   
 eThekwini Metropolitan Municipality   
 Harry Gwala District Municipality   
 iLembe District Municipality   
 King Cetshwayo District Municipality   
 Ugu District Municipality   
 uMgungundlovu District Municipality   
 uMkhanyakude District Municipality   
 uMzinyathi District Municipality   
 Uthukela District Municipality   
 Zululand District Municipality   
  National Assembly  African National Congress 0 19 +40.89%
  Zulu Monarchy  Misuzulu Zulu 1 21 +100.00%
Party Leadership
  African National Congress  Sihle Zikalala 1 15 +7.22%
  DA KwaZulu-Natal  Zwakele Mncwango 0 18 +100.00%

% Of Total VotesOfficeKwaZulu-Natal WinnerYrKwaZulu-Natal Votes% of Sub% Vs. Full Race

Eastern Cape, South Africa  
Free State, South Africa  
Lubombo, Eswatini  
Maputo City, Mozambique  
Mokhotlong, Lesotho  
Mpumalanga, South Africa  
Qacha's Nek, Lesotho  
Shiselweni, Eswatini  
Thaba-Tseka, Lesotho  

Province DETAILS
Parents > South Africa  
Established April 29, 1994
Disbanded Still Active
Last ModifiedIndyGeorgia April 28, 2020 11:21am
Description KwaZulu-Natal is located in the south-east of South Africa bordering the Indian Ocean. It also borders on the Eastern Cape, Free State and Mpumalanga provinces, as well as Lesotho, Swaziland and Mozambique. The ‘Garden Province' of South Africa stretches from the lush subtropical east coast washed by the warm Indian Ocean, to the sweeping savanna in the east and the majestic Drakensberg Mountain Range in the west.

It covers an area of 94 361km², the third-smallest in the country, and has a population of 10 267 300, making it the second most populous province in South Africa. The capital is Pietermaritzburg. The largest city is Durban. Other major cities and towns include Richards Bay, Port Shepstone, Newcastle, Estcourt, Ladysmith and Richmond.

The province's manufacturing sector is the largest in terms of contribution to GDP. Richards Bay is the centre of operations for South Africa’s aluminium industry. The Richards Bay Coal Terminal is instrumental in securing the country’s position as the second-largest exporter of steam coal in the world. The province has undergone rapid industrialisation owing to its abundant water supply and labour resources.

Agriculture is also central to the economy. The sugar cane plantations along the coastal belt are the mainstay of KwaZulu-Natal’s agriculture. The coastal belt is also a large producer of subtropical fruit, while the farmers inland concentrate on vegetable, dairy and stock farming. Another source of income is forestry in the areas around Vryheid, Eshowe, Richmond, Harding and Ngome.

KwaZulu-Natal is divided into one metropolitan municipality (eThekwini Metropolitan Municipality) and 10 district municipalities, which are further subdivided into 43 local municipalities.

SA-KZN District Municipalities post 2007 Dec 14, 2007-

SA-KZN Local Municipalities from 2016 Aug 3, 2016-

Click For History Details

Polls Close Description Takes Office




Start Date End Date Type Title Contributor

Title Purchase Contributor

Date Category Headline Article Contributor