Home About Chat Users Issues Party Candidates Polling Firms Media News Polls Calendar Key Races United States President Senate House Governors International

New User Account
"A historical political resource." 
Email: Password:

  Free State
Provincial Government
  Premier  Sisi Ntombela 1 19 +43.33%
  Provincial Legislature  African National Congress 0 19 +43.33%
 Fezile Dabi District Municipality   
 Lejweleputswa District Municipality   
 Mangaung Metropolitan Municipality   
 Thabo Mofutsanyana District Municipality   
 Xhariep District Municipality   
  National Assembly  African National Congress 0 19 +46.09%
Party Leadership
  ANC Free State  Sam Mashinini 1 18 +100.00%
 DA Free State   

% Of Total VotesOfficeFree State WinnerYrFree State Votes% of Sub% Vs. Full Race

Berea, Lesotho  
Butha-Buthe, Lesotho  
Eastern Cape, South Africa  
Gauteng, South Africa  
KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa  
Leribe, Lesotho  
Mafeteng, Lesotho  
Maseru, Lesotho  
Mohale's Hoek, Lesotho  
Mokhotlong, Lesotho  
Mpumalanga, South Africa  
North West Province, South Africa  
Northern Cape, South Africa  

Province DETAILS
Parents > South Africa  
Established April 29, 1994
Disbanded Still Active
Last ModifiedIndyGeorgia April 28, 2020 11:20am
Description The Free State is located in the geographical centre of South Africa, bordered by the Northern Cape, Eastern Cape, North West, Mpumalanga, KwaZulu-Natal and Gauteng provinces, as well as Lesotho. The Free State is a rural province of farmland, mountains, goldfields and widely dispersed towns.

Although the Free State is the third-largest province in South Africa, it has the second-smallest population and the second-lowest population density. It covers an area of 129 825km² and has a population of 2 745 590 – 5.3% of the national population. Its capital is Bloemfontein, which is South Africa’s judicial capital. Other important towns include Welkom, Kroonstad, Sasolburg and Bethlehem.

The economy is dominated by agriculture, mining and manufacturing. Known as the ‘bread basket’ of South Africa, about 90% of the province is under cultivation for crop production. It produces approximately 34% of the total maize production of South Africa, 37% of wheat, 53% of sorghum, 33% of potatoes, 18% of red meat, 30% of groundnuts and 15% of wool. The province is the world’s fifth-largest gold producer, with mining the major employer. It is a leader in the chemicals industry, being home to the giant synthetic-fuels company, Sasol.

The Vredefort Dome, 10km in diameter, about 100km south-west of Johannesburg, is South Africa’s seventh World Heritage Site.

The Free State is divided into one metropolitan municipality (Mangaung Metropolitan Municipality) and four district municipalities, which are further subdivided into 18 local municipalities.

SA-FS District Municipalities (post 2011) May 18, 2011-

Click For History Details

Polls Close Description Takes Office




Start Date End Date Type Title Contributor

Title Purchase Contributor

Date Category Headline Article Contributor