Home About Chat Users Issues Party Candidates Polling Firms Media News Polls Calendar Key Races United States President Senate House Governors International

New User Account
"A historical political resource." 
Email: Password:

  Nova Scotia
Provincial Government
  NS Premier  Stephen McNeil 2 17 +19.61%
  NS House of Assembly  Liberal Party 1 17 +19.61%
  NS House of Commons  Liberal Party 0 19 +81.82%
 NS Senate   
 Halifax Regional Municipality   
  Lieutenant Governor  Arthur Joseph LeBlanc 0 17 +100.00%
Party Leadership
  Green Party Leader  Thomas Trappenberg 0 16 +100.00%
  Liberal Party Leader  Stephen McNeil 2 10 +67.75%
  New Democratic Party Leader  Gary Burrill 1 16 +18.38%
  Progressive Conservative Party Leader  Tim Houston 1 18 +100.00%

% Of Total VotesOfficeNova Scotia WinnerYrNova Scotia Votes% of Sub% Vs. Full Race

New Brunswick, Canada  

Province DETAILS
Parents > Canada  
Established 00, 0000
Disbanded Still Active
Last ModifiedCampari_007 October 22, 2012 08:05am
Description Nova Scotia is a Canadian province located on Canada's southeastern coast. It is one of the four original provinces of Canada, joining Confederation on July 1, 1867.

The province's mainland is a peninsula surrounded by the Atlantic Ocean, including numerous bays and estuaries. Cape Breton Island, a large island to the northeast of the Nova Scotian mainland, is also part of the province, as is Sable Island, a small island notorious for its shipwrecks, approximately 175 km (95 nm) from the province's southern coast. Nova Scotia is Canada's second smallest province in area (after Prince Edward Island).

The population of Nova Scotia, as of 2006, is 934,405. It is Canada's seventh most populous province.

The capital and largest municipality of Nova Scotia is Halifax. Other major communities include Truro, New Glasgow, Kentville, Antigonish, Lunenburg, Yarmouth, Amherst, Shelburne, Wolfville, and Windsor. Certain areas of counties and districts have also been gathered into municipalities, such as the Cape Breton Regional Municipality, the Municipality of the County of Colchester, the Municipality of the County of Pictou, and the Municipality of the District of Shelburne.

The current Premier of the province is Hon. Darrell Dexter, New Democrat. The current Lieutenant Governor is Mayann Francis.

Nova Scotia is Latin for "New Scotland". The province includes several regions of the Mi'kmaq nation of Mi'gma'gi. Nova Scotia was already home to the Mi'kmaq people when the first European colonists arrived. In 1604, French colonists established the first permanent European settlement north of Florida at Port Royal, founding what would become known as Acadia. The British Empire obtained control of the region between 1713 and 1760, and established the new capital at Halifax in 1749.

Government logo:


Polls Close Description Takes Office




Start Date End Date Type Title Contributor

Title Purchase Contributor

Date Category Headline Article Contributor
Sep 18, 2009 04:45am News Halifax police may have nabbed the sleepwatcher  Article Jason 
Aug 17, 2009 02:00pm Report N.S. Tories left finances in bad shape: NDP  Article Monsieur 
Jun 11, 2007 01:00pm News PM to N.S.: Take us to court over equalization  Article Monsieur 
Mar 06, 2007 08:00pm News Pictou County [Nova Scotia] soldier killed in Afghanistan  Article Monsieur 
Sep 08, 2006 03:00pm News [Condi] Rice to mark 9/11 anniversary in Nova Scotia  Article Monsieur 
Mar 06, 2006 08:00am News [Nova Scotia] Greens choose student as leader  Article Monsieur