Home About Chat Users Issues Party Candidates Polling Firms Media News Polls Calendar Key Races United States President Senate House Governors International

New User Account
"A historical political resource." 
Email: Password:

City Government
  Mayor  Sara Carlson 1 16 +94.25%
City Council
  City Council Ward I  Bill Franzen 1 18 +97.11%
  City Council Ward II  Roger Thalman 1 18 +2.14%
  City Council Ward III  Bobbie Osterberg 1 16 +97.17%
  City Council Ward IV  David J. Benson 1 18 +27.94%
  City Council Ward V  Todd Jensen 1 16 +92.13%

Parents > United States > Minnesota > MN Counties > Douglas  
Established February 20, 1877
Disbanded Still Active
Last ModifiedRP May 13, 2019 06:14pm
Description The City Council is an elected body that has administrative and legislative authority over City business. The City is divided into five wards with one Council Member per ward. Presently there are two wards with two precincts which gives the City a total of seven voting precincts within the City limits.

The Alexandria City Council is comprised of elected officials consisting of a Mayor and five City Council Members, all of whom are elected at-large. The Mayor serves a four year term and Council Members serve four year terms which are staggered every two years. City elections are held on even-numbered years.

The Mayor presides at City Council meetings and does not vote unless it is to break a tie. City Council Meetings are held the 2nd and 4th Monday of each month beginning at 7:00 pm. Meetings are held in the Alexandria City Council Chambers located at 704 Broadway- Alexandria, MN 56308.


Polls Close Description Takes Office


Pty Amount % Yr Chg As Of Contributor
N 5,042 100.00% -19.40% Nov 06, 2018 RP


Start Date End Date Type Title Contributor

Title Purchase Contributor

Date Category Headline Article Contributor