Home About Chat Users Issues Party Candidates Polling Firms Media News Polls Calendar Key Races United States President Senate House Governors International

New User Account
"A historical political resource." 
Email: Password:

NameScott Morrison
Votes77 (50.99%)
Margin9 (+5.96%)
Term05/29/2019 - 08/01/2022
  Deputy Prime Minister  Michael McCormack 1 18 +100.00%
  Treasurer  Joshua Frydenberg 1 18 +100.00%
  Minister for Foreign Affairs  Marise Payne 1 18 +100.00%
  Minister for Finance  Mathias Cormann 2 18 +100.00%
  Minister for Health  Greg Hunt 2 18 +100.00%
  Minister for Trade  Simon Birmingham 1 18 +100.00%
  Attorney-General  Christian Porter 1 17 +100.00%
  Minister for Agriculture  Bridget McKenzie 1 19 +100.00%
 Minister for Communications   
  Minister for Defence  Linda Reynolds 1 19 +100.00%
  Minister for Education  Dan Tehan 1 18 +100.00%
  Minister for Energy  Angus Taylor 1 18 +100.00%
 Minister for Environment   
  Minister for Families & Social Services  Paul Fletcher 1 18 +100.00%
  Minister for Human Services  Michael Keenan 1 17 +100.00%
  Minister for Immigration and Citizenship  David Coleman 1 18 +100.00%
  Minister for Indigenous Affairs  Ken Wyatt 1 19 +100.00%
 Minister for Industry, Tourism and Resources   
 Minister for Infrastructure, Transport and Regional Development   
 Minister for Innovation, Industry, Science, and Research   
  Minister for Jobs & Industrial Relations  Kelly O'Dwyer 1 18 +100.00%
 Minister for Regional Services, Sport, Local Government and Decentralisation   
 Special Minister of State   
Outer Ministry
 Minister for Aging   
 Minister for Competition Policy and Consumer Affairs and Assistant Treasurer   
 Minister for Defence Science and Personnel   
 Minister for Home Affairs   
 Minister for Housing and the Status of Women   
 Minister for Small Business and Tourism   
 Minister for Superannuation and Corporate Governance   
 Minister for Veterans' Affairs   
 Minister for Workforce Participation   
Parliamentary Secretaries
 Parliamentary Secretary Assisting the Prime Minister for Social Inclusion and the Voluntary Sector   
 Parliamentary Secretary for Defence   
 Parliamentary Secretary for Defence Procurement   
 Parliamentary Secretary for Disabilities and Children’s Services   
 Parliamentary Secretary for International Development Assistance   
 Parliamentary Secretary for Multicultural affairs and Settlement Programs   
 Parliamentary Secretary for Pacific Island Affairs   
 Parliamentary Secretary for Regional Development and Northern Australia   
 Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Health   
 Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Trade   
 Parliamentary Secretary to the Prime Minister   
 Parliamentary Secretary to the Prime Minister for Early Childhood Education and Childcare   

Institutions DETAILS
Parents > Australia  
Established 00, 0000
Disbanded Still Active
ContributorUser 13
Last ModifiedKarma Policeman May 17, 2007 12:28am
Description The office of Prime Minister is in practice the most powerful political office in the Commonwealth of Australia.

By convention, the Prime Minister is the leader of the party or coalition which has the most seats in the lower house of the Federal Parliament, the House of Representatives. In times of constitutional crisis, however, this convention can be broken if necessary; this has occurred twice. At the time of Federation, no parliament had yet been established, so Edmund Barton was temporarily appointed as Prime Minister until elections were held. More controversially, during the Australian constitutional crisis of 1975, Malcolm Fraser was appointed to replace Gough Whitlam.

By convention, the Prime Minister is always a member of the lower house of parliament. The Prime Minister can remain in office for as long as he retains the majority support of the lower house of parliament and retains his own seat in Parliament. In the rare event that the Prime Minister's party wins an election but the Prime Minister loses his seat, it is possible for the Governor-General to appoint someone other than a member of Parliament a Minister (and hence Prime Minister) for up to three months. During this time a member of the Prime Minister's party with a safe seat would be forced to resign, and the Prime Minister would then be elected as member for that seat.

The constitutional crisis of 1975 shows that a Prime Minister may be removed if seriously opposed in the Senate, even though he may have the support of the majority of the House. This however only applies if the Senate refuses to pass essential Government legislation, like the Budget. (See Loss of Supply). The Senate in recent years has frequently refused to pass major (though non-essential) government legislation.


Click For More History Details

Polls Close Description Takes Office





Start Date End Date Type Title Contributor

Title Purchase Contributor

Date Category Headline Article Contributor
Feb 12, 2019 12:25am News Australian government suffers historic defeat over refugee medical bill  Article IndyGeorgia