Home About Chat Users Issues Party Candidates Polling Firms Media News Polls Calendar Key Races United States President Senate House Governors International

New User Account
"A historical political resource." 
Email: Password:

  NB Legislative Assembly
  PartyProgressive Conservative
Name Progressive Conservative Party of New Brunswick
Votes27 (55.10%)
Margin10 (+20.41%)
Term09/14/2020 - 09/14/2024
  Speaker  Bill Oliver 1 20 +100.00%
  NB Legislative Assembly - Popular Vote  Progressive Conservative Party of New Brunswick 0 20 +5.00%
Provincial Legislature
  Albert  Mike Holland 2 20 +49.28%
  Bathurst East-Nepisiguit-Saint-Isidore  Denis Landry 7 20 +39.75%
  Bathurst West-Beresford  René Legacy 1 20 +26.12%
  Campbellton-Dalhousie  Guy H. Arseneault 2 20 +45.54%
  Caraquet  Isabelle Thériault 2 20 +56.54%
  Carleton  Bill Hogan 1 20 +22.03%
  Carleton-Victoria  Margaret C. Johnson 1 20 +5.31%
  Carleton-York  Richard Ames 1 20 +39.27%
  Dieppe  Roger Melanson 4 20 +38.02%
  Edmundston-Madawaska Centre  Jean-Claude D'Amours 2 20 +54.84%
  Fredericton North  Jill Green 1 20 +9.71%
  Fredericton South  David Coon 3 20 +24.01%
  Fredericton West-Hanwell  Dominic Cardy 2 20 +33.36%
  Fredericton-Grand Lake  Kris Austin 2 20 +15.81%
  Fredericton-York  Ryan P. Cullins 1 20 +18.42%
  Fundy-The Isles-Saint John West  Andrea Anderson-Mason 2 20 +56.29%
  Gagetown-Petitcodiac  Ross Wetmore 4 20 +42.96%
  Hampton  Gary Crossman 3 20 +45.44%
  Kent North  Kevin Arseneau 2 20 +12.84%
  Kent South  Benoît Bourque 3 20 +25.00%
  Kings Centre  Bill Oliver 3 20 +48.03%
  Madawaska Les Lacs-Edmundston  Francine Landry 3 20 +40.94%
  Memramcook-Tantramar  Megan Mitton 2 20 +6.35%
  Miramichi  Michelle Conroy 2 20 +16.47%
  Miramichi Bay-Neguac  Lisa Harris 3 20 +9.91%
  Moncton Centre  Rob McKee 2 20 +11.49%
  Moncton East  Daniel Allain 1 20 +9.82%
  Moncton Northwest  Ernie Steeves 3 20 +20.83%
  Moncton South  Greg Turner 1 20 +11.82%
  Moncton Southwest  Sherry Wilson 4 20 +30.01%
  New Maryland-Sunbury  Jeff Carr 3 20 +41.94%
  Oromocto-Lincoln-Fredericton  Mary E. Wilson 2 20 +17.08%
  Portland-Simonds  Trevor Holder 7 20 +26.35%
  Quispamsis  Blaine Higgs 4 20 +53.46%
  Restigouche West  Gilles LePage 3 20 +40.43%
  Restigouche-Chaleur  Daniel Guitard 3 20 +28.06%
  Riverview  Bruce Fitch 6 20 +43.69%
  Rothesay  Hugh John "Ted" Flemming III 3 20 +40.26%
  Saint Croix  Kathy Bockus 1 20 +12.96%
  Saint John East  Glen Savoie 3 20 +30.02%
  Saint John Harbour  Arlene Dunn 1 20 +18.17%
  Saint John Lancaster  Dorothy Shephard 4 20 +31.83%
  Shediac Bay-Dieppe  Robert Gauvin 2 20 +29.54%
  Shediac-Beaubassin-Cap-Pelé  Jacques LeBlanc 2 20 +27.07%
  Shippagan-Lamèque-Miscou  Éric Mallet 1 20 +75.03%
  Southwest Miramichi-Bay du Vin  Jake Stewart 4 20 +19.98%
  Sussex-Fundy-St. Martins  Tammy Scott-Wallace 1 20 +39.26%
  Tracadie-Sheila  Keith Chiasson 2 20 +46.36%
  Victoria-La Vallée  Chuck Chiasson 3 20 +31.66%

Provincial Government DETAILS
Parents > Canada > New Brunswick  
Website [Link]
Established 00, 0000
Disbanded Still Active
ContributorUser 215
Last ModifiedRP April 13, 2015 05:23pm
Description New Brunswick's system of government, like the federal system in Ottawa and those in other provinces, is based on the British parliamentary system.

It is the only officially bilingual province in Canada, having passed into law an Official Languages Act which recognizes the equality of the English and French languages in the legislature, courts, public service and schools.

Under our system of parliamentary democracy, each of the 55 members of the provincial Legislative Assembly is elected individually to represent the voters in one constituency or district.

Although a member of the Legislative Assembly (MLA) need not be affiliated with an organized political party, historically it has been the case in New Brunswick for members to belong to either the Liberal Party or the Progressive Conservative Party. Only those two parties have been able to win sufficient seats in a general election to form a government. The first member of the legislature to represent the New Democratic Party was elected in 1982. The first members of the Confederation of Regions Party were elected in 1991.

Following a provincial election, the political party with the largest number of elected representatives forms the government. The leader of the party with the majority of seats, the premier, is also an MLA. The premier appoints a cabinet from among the members of his party elected to the legislature. Cabinet ministers are, in our system, collectively responsible to the Legislative Assembly, and thus to the people at large, for implementing legislation (laws) passed by the legislature and for conducting government affairs.

The legislature meets once and sometimes twice a year. It can be dissolved at any time by the lieutenant-governor on the advice of the premier or, in the event the government is defeated, by a vote in the legislature. The latter circumstance is an indication the Legislative Assembly has lost confidence in the government.

The party with the second largest number of seats in the legislature forms the official Opposition, and its leader becomes leader of the Opposition. There can be more than one opposition party and that with the largest number of members is styled the official Opposition.

The role of the Opposition is to question the government policies and actions, and to offer alternatives to government policies.

New Brunswick Legislative Assembly Ridings Sep 22, 2014-


Click For More History Details

Polls Close Description Takes Office




Start Date End Date Type Title Contributor

Title Purchase Contributor

Date Category Headline Article Contributor