Home About Chat Users Issues Party Candidates Polling Firms Media News Polls Calendar Key Races United States President Senate House Governors International

New User Account
"A historical political resource." 
Email: Password:

  First Vice President  Riek Machar 1 20 +100.00%
  Second Vice President  James Wani Igga 1 20 +100.00%
  Third Vice President  Taban Deng Gai 0 20 +100.00%
  Fourth Vice President  Rebecca Nyadeng Garang 0 20 +100.00%
  Fifth Vice President  Hussein Abdelbagi 0 20 +100.00%
Council of Ministers
  Minister for Road and Bridges  Simon Mijok Mijak 0 20 +100.00%
  Minister for Youth and Sport  Albino Bol Dhieu 0 20 +100.00%
  Minister of Agriculture and Food Security  Josephine Lagu 0 20 +100.00%
  Minister of Cabinet Affairs  Martin Elia Lomuro 0 20 +100.00%
  Minister of Culture, Museums and National Heritage  Nadia Arop 0 20 +100.00%
  Minister of Defense and Veterans’ Affairs  Angelina Teny 0 20 +100.00%
  Minister of East African Community Affairs  John Luk Jok 0 20 +100.00%
  Minister of Energy and Dams  Peter Marcello 0 20 +100.00%
  Minister of Environment and Forestry  Josephine Napon Cosmos 0 20 +100.00%
  Minister of Federal Affairs  Lasuba L. Wango 0 20 +100.00%
  Minister of Finance and Planning  Salvatore Garang Mabiordit 0 20 +100.00%
  Minister of Foreign Affairs  Beatrice Khamisa Wani-Noah 0 20 +100.00%
  Minister of Gender and Social Welfare  Ayaa Benjamin Warille 0 20 +100.00%
  Minister of General Education and Instruction  Awut Deng Achuil 0 20 +100.00%
  Minister of Health  Elisabeth Acuei Yol 0 20 +100.00%
  Minister of Higher Education, Science and Technology  Denay Jok Chagor 0 20 +100.00%
  Minister of Humanitarian Affairs  Mayen Majongdit 0 20 +100.00%
  Minister of Information  Michael Makuei Lueth 0 20 +100.00%
  Minister of Interior  Paul Mayom Akech 0 20 +100.00%
  Minister of Investment  Dhieu Mathok Diing 0 20 +100.00%
  Minister of Justice and Constitutional Affairs  Ruben Madol Arol 0 20 +100.00%
  Minister of Labor  James Hoth Mai 0 20 +100.00%
  Minister of Land, Housing and Urban Development  Michael Chiangjiek 0 20 +100.00%
  Minister of Livestock and Fisheries  Onyoti Adigo Nyikwac 0 20 +100.00%
  Minister of Mining  Henry Odwar 0 20 +100.00%
  Minister of National Security  Obuto Mamur Mete 0 20 +100.00%
  Minister of Parliamentary Affairs  Jemma Nunu Kumba 0 20 +100.00%
  Minister of Peace Building  Stephen Par Kuol 0 20 +100.00%
  Minister of Petroleum  Puot Kang Chuol 0 20 +100.00%
  Minister of Public Service and Human Resource Development  Bangasi Joseph Bakosoro 0 20 +100.00%
  Minister of Trade and Industry  Kuol Athian Mawien 0 20 +100.00%
  Minister of Transport  Madut Biar Yel 0 20 +100.00%
  Minister of Water Resources and Irrigation  Manawa Peter Gatkuoth 0 20 +100.00%
  Minister of Wildlife, Conservation and Tourism  Rizik Zachariah Hassan 0 20 +100.00%

Institutions DETAILS
Parents > South Sudan  
Website [Link]
Alternate NamesPresident of the Republic of South Sudan
Established July 09, 2011
Disbanded Still Active
Last ModifiedBojicat February 25, 2020 01:39pm
Description In an arrangement with the former President of Sudan, Omar al-Bashir, Salva Kiir Mayardit was made 'President of the Government of Southern Sudan' and 'First Vice President of (the entire) Sudan' in 2005.

This set the stage for a formal split from the North which came 6 years later, made official by referendum on January 9, 2011 (99% voted in favor of separation) [Link]

Kiir declared July 9, 2011 South Sudan's independence day and himself the 1st 'President of South Sudan' the same day.

Kiir's dismissal of his Vice President, Riek Machar, a member of the minority Nuer tribe (Kiir is a member of the Dinka tribe), on July 23, 2013 was taken as a personal affront against all Nuers, which resulted in a civil war.

Over 400,000 deaths later, Kiir and Machar came to an understanding on February 21, 2020 - Machar would get his old job back and Machar's men from the Sudan People's Liberation Movement-in-Opposition (SPLM-IO), along with other parties and militias willing to reconcile, would join Kiir in a 'Unity Government' [Link]

The "unity government" will consist of 35 ministers, 10 deputy ministers, and a 550-member parliament.

The incumbent government led by Kiir will have two vice presidents, 21 ministers, five deputy ministers, and 332 parliament members.

Machar’s SPLM-IO will hold the previously-mentioned post of first vice president, nine ministers, three deputy ministers and 128 parliament members.

The South Sudan Opposition Alliance will have one vice president, three ministers, one deputy minister, and 50 parliament members.

The "Former Detainees" group will have one vice president, two ministers and 10 parliament members.

The remainder (one minister, one deputy minister, and 30 parliament members) will be left open to split between other (more-or-less resistant) political-parties-cum-militias should they decide to join the "unity government" later.

Polls Close Description Takes Office
Apr 15, 2010 12:00pm President of the Republic of South Sudan  Jul 09, 2011 12:00pm




Start Date End Date Type Title Contributor

Title Purchase Contributor

Date Category Headline Article Contributor
Feb 21, 2020 09:25pm News Formation of transitional government begins in South Sudan  Article Bojicat 
Mar 24, 2015 06:00pm News South Sudan president's term extended  Article IndyGeorgia 
Jul 23, 2013 02:00pm News South Sudan's Salva Kiir sacks entire cabinet  Article IndyGeorgia