Home About Chat Users Issues Party Candidates Polling Firms Media News Polls Calendar Key Races United States President Senate House Governors International

New User Account
"A historical political resource." 
Email: Password:

  Denis, Howard A.
NameHoward A. Denis
Address4515 Willard Ave.
Chevy Chase, Maryland , United States
Born November 21, 1939 (81 years)
ContributorU Ole Polecat
Last ModifedMr. Matt
Jan 11, 2021 05:23pm
Tags Married -
InfoFor over 20 years, Howard A. Denis has been a public voice for reform and good government -- first as a Maryland State senator and, since May of 2000, as a member of the Montgomery County Council. In the State Senate, he championed openness in state government, opposed the use of public money to build sports stadiums, and led the successful opposition to the appointment of a judge who had belittled the issue of domestic violence.

A graduate of Bethesda-Chevy Chase High School, Denis if a strong supporter of County public schools and has supported initiatives to reduce class sizes, bolster reading and math skills, and expand all-day kindergarten.

A member of the Council's Management and Fiscal Policy Committee, Denis is a strong voice for fairer taxation. He initiated the fight, ultimately successful in the state legislature, to prohibit the County government from reassessing resident's property taxes in the middle of the three-year cycle. He supported expanding the County's tax on developers to pay for congestion relief -- a move that will more than double County spending on transportation in future years.

Denis graduated from Georgetown College in 1961 with a Bachelor of Arts in Government, and received a law degree as a night student from Georgetown University Law Center in 1965. He clerked for District of Columbia General Sessions (now Superior Court) Judge Joseph M.F. Ryan, Jr., and was admitted to the Bar in 1966.

Denis was appointed to the Maryland State Senate in 1977, and was subsequently elected to full four-year terms in 1978, 1982, 1986, and 1990.

In January 1995, Denis was named as counsel to the District of Columbia Subcommittee of the United States House of Representatives’ Government Reform and Oversight Committee and later served as staff director of the subcommittee. He now serves as counsel to the Technology and Procurement Policy Subcommittee.

Denis served as campaign chairman for two Members of Congress from Montgomery County’s 8th congressional district – for Representative Newton I. Steers, Jr. in 1976 and Representative Connie Morella in 1988. He was elected as a delegate to the Republican National Conventions of 1988, 1992, and 1996. He served as third Vice President of the Maryland Republican Party from 1994 to 1998.

Denis was an adjunct associate professor at University College at the University of Maryland at College Park, teaching a course in government from 1991 to 1994. In 1992, the Washington Metropolitan Council of Governments selected him for a Toll Fellowship.

Denis was an election observer for the United States delegation in the country of Nepal in 1991 and in the Ukraine in 1998. He visited the former Soviet Union in 1984 under the auspices of the National Conference of Soviet Jews, and visited that country in 1978 and 1989 under the sponsorship of the American Council of Young Political Leaders. He lectured in the Ukraine in 1995 and 1996 as part of a project by the International Republican Institute.



Title Purchase Contributor

Start Date End Date Type Title Contributor

Date Category Headline Article Contributor

Importance? 0.00000 Average


  11/07/2006 Montgomery County, MD Council 1 Lost 43.98% (-12.00%)
  11/05/2002 Montgomery County, MD Council 1 Won 50.94% (+1.94%)
  11/03/1998 Montgomery County, MD Council - At-Large Lost 10.64% (-6.15%)
  09/13/1994 MD Lt. Governor- R Primary Lost 37.90% (-14.28%)
  11/06/1990 MD State Senate 16 Won 58.79% (+17.58%)
  11/04/1986 MD State Senate 16 Won 53.73% (+7.45%)
  11/02/1982 MD State Senate 16 Won 50.86% (+1.72%)
  11/07/1978 MD State Senate 16 Won 50.39% (+0.78%)
  01/04/1977 MD State Senate 16 - Appointment Won 100.00% (+100.00%)
MD US President - Nov 08, 2016 D Hillary Clinton
MD US President - R Primary - Apr 26, 2016 R John Kasich
MD US President - R Primary - Feb 12, 2008 R Rudy Giuliani