Home About Chat Users Issues Party Candidates Polling Firms Media News Polls Calendar Key Races United States President Senate House Governors International

New User Account
"A historical political resource." 
Email: Password:

  Hruska, Roman
NameRoman Hruska
Omaha, Nebraska , United States
Born August 16, 1904
DiedApril 25, 1999 (94 years)
ContributorWishful Thinking
Last ModifedRBH
Sep 30, 2015 08:38pm
InfoBorn in David City, Butler County, Nebr., August 16, 1904; attended the public schools, the University of Omaha, and the University of Chicago Law School; graduated from Creighton University College of Law, Omaha, Nebr., in 1929; was admitted to the bar in 1929 and commenced practice in Omaha, Nebr.; member of Board of Douglas County Commissioners 1944-1952, chairman 1945-1952; member of Advisory Committee to Nebraska Board of Control 1947-1952; president Nebraska Association of County Officials 1950-1951; vice president of National Association of County Officials 1951-1952; vice chairman of Nebraska Civil Defense 1951-1952; member of Board of Regents of the University of Omaha 1950-1957; elected as a Republican to the Eighty-third Congress and served from January 3, 1953, until his resignation November 8, 1954, having been elected to the United States Senate, November 2, 1954, to fill the vacancy caused by the death of Hugh Butler; assumed office November 8, 1954; reelected in 1958, 1964, and again in 1970 and served from November 8, 1954, until his resignation December 27, 1976; was not a candidate for reelection in 1976; was a resident of Omaha, Nebr. until his death on April 25, 1999, due to complications from a broken hip following a fall; interment at Bohemian Cemetery.


Title Purchase Contributor

Start Date End Date Type Title Contributor

Date Category Headline Article Contributor

Importance? 0.00000 Average


  11/03/1970 NE US Senate Won 52.49% (+5.06%)
  05/12/1970 NE US Senate- R Primary Won 85.54% (+71.22%)
  11/03/1964 NE US Senate Won 61.37% (+22.75%)
  11/04/1958 NE US Senate Won 55.64% (+11.28%)
  11/02/1954 NE US Senate Special Won 60.88% (+21.75%)
  11/04/1952 NE District 2 Won 56.12% (+12.23%)
Supreme Court - Associate Justice - Dec 17, 1975 R John Paul Stevens
Supreme Court - Associate Justice - Dec 15, 1971 R William H. Rehnquist
Supreme Court - Associate Justice - Dec 09, 1971 D Lewis Franklin Powell, Jr.
Supreme Court - Associate Justice - May 17, 1970 R Harry Blackmun
Supreme Court - Associate Justice - Apr 08, 1970 R G. Harrold Carswell
Supreme Court - Associate Justice - Nov 21, 1969 R Clement Furman Haynsworth, Jr.
Supreme Court - Chief Justice - Jun 23, 1969 R Warren E. Burger
Supreme Court - Associate Justice - Aug 30, 1967 D Thurgood Marshall