Home About Chat Users Issues Party Candidates Polling Firms Media News Polls Calendar Key Races United States President Senate House Governors International

New User Account
"A historical political resource." 
Email: Password:

  Yakabuski, John
AffiliationProgressive Conservative  
NameJohn Yakabuski
, Ontario , Canada
Website [Link]
Born Unknown
Last ModifedMonsieur
Oct 11, 2007 03:49pm
InfoJohn Yakabuski is currently MPP for Renfrew-Nipissing-Pembroke, and Energy Critic for the Official Opposition. He has been re-nominated as the PC Party Candidate for this riding in the coming General Election, October 2007.

John was elected to the Ontario Legislature on October 2, 2003 and is currently a member of the Standing Committee on General Government.

John was raised on politics, as his father, Paul Yakabuski, served as the provincial Member for the riding of Renfrew South for 24 years.

Formerly a real estate sales representative, John is best known as the owner-operator of Yakabuski's Home Hardware in Barry's Bay, which he operated for 20 years.

John is also well known for his record of community service that has included service to the Royal Canadian Legion, Madawaska Valley Lions Club and the Boy Scouts. John has also sat on the steering committee of St. Francis Memorial Hospital's Capital Equipment Campaign. He is also very active in his church, St. John's Lutheran Augsburg.

John was elected to the municipal council in the Village of Barry's Bay in 1997. During that time, he sat on the transition board dealing with the issues with respect to pending amalgamation. He did not seek re-election in 2000.

John grew up in a family of 14 children, just about enough for a quorum on its own. He and his wife, Vicky, have four children, Zachary, Heidi, Emily and Lucas.


Title Purchase Contributor

Start Date End Date Type Title Contributor

Date Category Headline Article Contributor

Importance? 0.00000 Average


  06/07/2018 ON Legislative Assembly - Renfrew—Nipissing—Pembroke Won 69.19% (+52.46%)
  07/02/2014 ON PC Party Leader Lost 0.00% (-100.00%)
  06/12/2014 ON Legislative Assembly - Renfrew–Nipissing–Pembroke Won 61.07% (+41.96%)
  10/06/2011 ON Legislative Assembly - Renfrew–Nipissing–Pembroke Won 70.80% (+54.81%)
  10/10/2007 ON Legislative Assembly - Renfrew–Nipissing–Pembroke Won 62.34% (+37.62%)
  10/23/2003 ON Legislative Assembly - Renfrew–Nipissing–Pembroke Won 44.14% (+1.48%)
ON PC Party Leader - Mar 10, 2018 PC Caroline Mulroney
Conservative Party Leader - May 27, 2017 CPC Erin O'Toole
ON PC Party Leader - Jun 25, 2009 PC Tim Hudak