Home About Chat Users Issues Party Candidates Polling Firms Media News Polls Calendar Key Races United States President Senate House Governors International

New User Account
"A historical political resource." 
Email: Password:

  Jaeger, Alvin A. "Al"
NameAlvin A. "Al" Jaeger
Bismarck, North Dakota , United States
Born December 10, 1943 (76 years)
Last ModifedPaul
Nov 28, 2012 11:18am
InfoSecretary Al Jaeger was born in Beulah, ND in 1943. He was raised there and graduated in 1961 from Beulah High School. He attended Bismarck (ND) State College and earned an Associate of Arts degree in 1963. In 1966, he received a Bachelor of Science degree from Dickinson (ND) State University. At Dickinson State, Jaeger majored in Business Education and minored in Speech.

Jaeger also completed post-graduate work at the University of North Dakota in 1968 and Montana State University in 1970.

During his high school and college years, Jaeger worked for his father's excavating and ready-mix concrete company. After graduating from Dickinson State, he taught at Killdeer (ND) High School for three years and for two years at Kenmare (ND) High School. Upon moving to Fargo, ND in 1971, Jaeger worked for the Mobil Oil Corporation as a marketing analyst until 1973. From 1973 to 1992, Jaeger was self-employed as a real estate broker and owned his own real estate brokerage business in Fargo. Jaeger was elected North Dakota�s fourteenth Secretary of State in 1992 and was reelected in 1996 and in 2000. Jaeger now resides in Bismarck with his family. He and his wife Kathy have three children.

Jaeger is a past member of the North Dakota Army National Guard. He was an active member of the Jaycees and served as Vice President and Secretary of the Fargo chapter. Before moving to Bismarck in 1993, Jaeger was an eighteen year member of the Fargo Rough Riders Kiwanis Club where he served a term as President and several terms as club Secretary. Jaeger is currently a member of the Kiwanis Club of Bismarck. Jaeger was actively involved in his church in Fargo, ND as a council member and as the head usher for eighteen years. He currently is a member of the Lay Ministry Board in his church in Bismarck, ND.

Although elected to the office of Secretary of State, Jaeger has retained his real estate broker�s license in North Dakota. As such, he has continued his membership in the Fargo-Moorhead Area Association of Realtors and the North Dakota Association of Realtors. Jaeger served as an officer and was a member of several committees pertaining to education, professional standards, by-laws, and the multiple listing service. He currently holds two professional designations in the real estate industry. In 1980, Jaeger was named Realtor of the Year for the Fargo-Moorhead Area Association of Realtors and was a nominee for North Dakota Realtor of the Year.

In his current position, Secretary Jaeger serves as a member of the North Dakota Emergency Commission, the North Dakota State Historical Society, and the North Dakota Board of University and School Lands.

Since taking office on January 1, 1993, Secretary Jaeger has also taken on an active role in the National Association of Secretaries of State (NASS). As a member of NASS, Secretary Jaeger has served several times on the Executive Committee. He is currently serving his eighth term as Chairman of the NASS Standing Committee on Awards and Publications as well as his third term as a member of the NASS Budget Committee.


Title Purchase Contributor

Start Date End Date Type Title Contributor

Date Category Headline Article Contributor

Importance? 3.00000 Average


  11/06/2018 ND Secretary of State Won 47.28% (+8.07%)
  04/07/2018 ND Secretary of State - R Endorsement Lost 39.21% (-21.58%)
  11/04/2014 ND Secretary of State Won 62.39% (+30.20%)
  11/02/2010 ND Secretary of State Won 62.44% (+24.98%)
  06/08/2010 ND Secretary of State - R Primary Won 99.88% (+99.77%)
  11/07/2006 ND Secretary of State Won 53.92% (+7.83%)
  11/02/2004 ND Secretary of State Won 65.15% (+30.30%)
  11/07/2000 ND Secretary of State Won 65.56% (+31.11%)
  11/05/1996 ND Secretary of State Won 58.62% (+17.24%)
  11/03/1992 ND Secretary of State Won 52.06% (+4.11%)