Home About Chat Users Issues Party Candidates Polling Firms Media News Polls Calendar Key Races United States President Senate House Governors International

New User Account
"A historical political resource." 
Email: Password:

  Ablonczy, Diane
NameDiane Ablonczy
Calgary, Alberta , Canada
Website [Link]
Born May 06, 1949 (71 years)
ContributorUser 13
Last ModifedMonsieur
Mar 25, 2006 08:50am
InfoDiane Ablonczy was first elected to Parliament in the federal election of October 1993. While in Opposition, her work on health care, immigration and holding the government accountable made her one of Canada’s most respected and well-known Members of Parliament. Diane is committed to the principles of honesty and good government and this guides her whenever she speaks in Parliament.

Over the last twelve years Diane has had the opportunity to fill many important roles:

-Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Finance (current)
-Chief Opposition Critic: Citizenship & Immigration, Health, Human Resources Development
-Member of the Public Accounts Committee that investigated the sponsorship scandal
-Deputy Critic: Justice, Atlantic Issues
-Canadian Alliance Leadership Candidate 2002, running on a platform of unity between the Alliance and PC parties
-Member of the Conservative Party Caucus Committee on Policy, 2004/05
-Co-Chair of the United Alternative Policy Development Committee

Diane holds teaching and law degrees from the University of Calgary and has a varied professional and business background which includes teaching elementary and junior high school, managing a grain farm operation and building a successful law practice.

Diane grew up in several communities throughout Alberta. She is married to Ron Sauer, has one daughter, four step-children and two grandsons.


Title Purchase Contributor

Start Date End Date Type Title Contributor

Date Category Headline Article Contributor

Importance? 0.00000 Average


  05/02/2011 AB Parliament - Calgary—Nose Hill Won 70.20% (+57.74%)
  01/19/2010 CAN Minister of State (Seniors) Won 100.00% (+100.00%)
  10/14/2008 AB Parliament - Calgary—Nose Hill Won 69.62% (+56.39%)
  08/14/2007 CAN Secretary of State (Small Business and Tourism) Won 100.00% (+100.00%)
  01/23/2006 AB Parliament - Calgary—Nose Hill Won 68.49% (+51.38%)
  06/28/2004 AB Parliament - Calgary—Nose Hill Won 64.38% (+41.50%)
  12/23/2003 AB Parliament - Calgary—Nose Hill - Party Switch Won 100.00% (+100.00%)
  03/20/2002 Canadian Alliance Leader Lost 3.82% (-51.22%)
  11/27/2000 AB Parliament - Calgary—Nose Hill Won 60.13% (+40.70%)
  03/27/2000 AB Parliament - Calgary—Nose Hill - Party Switch Won 100.00% (+100.00%)
  06/02/1997 AB Parliament - Calgary—Nose Hill Won 51.80% (+26.56%)
  10/25/1993 AB Parliament - Calgary North Won 52.45% (+26.01%)
Conservative Party Leader - May 27, 2017 CPC Erin O'Toole