Home About Chat Users Issues Party Candidates Polling Firms Media News Polls Calendar Key Races United States President Senate House Governors International

New User Account
"A historical political resource." 
Email: Password:

  Botswana Democrat
Last EditedIndyGeorgia - May 03, 2011 08:10pm
DescriptionThe Botswana Democratic Party is the governing conservative party in Botswana, led by president Festus Mogae. At the last election, the party won 51.7 % of popular votes and 44 out of 57 seats. Before independence it was known as the Bechuanaland Democratic Party. In the first general elections in 1965 it won 28 of 31 seats. Since independence it has been in power continuously.

The party's base is in the traditional Tswana communities, and it was sometimes referred to as "the Chief's party" (referring to Sir Seretse Khama). The BDP is pro-Western, and it has been accused of accepting money from the United States and diamond mining interests during political campaigns. Its supporters believe that the party has provided stability (Botswana has never experienced a coup or civil war), democratic rule and a moderately high level of development compared to some other countries in southern Africa. Nowadays its leader, Festus Mogae is president of Botswana.

Title Purchase Contributor

Start Date End Date Type Title Contributor

Date Category Headline Article Contributor

Enter your Name:

A moderator will have to approve your message before it will appear.
Simple bad-talking or insulting messages will likely be deleted.
This site is an English language site and non-English messages will be deleted.

Enter This Code


01/18/2017 AU Commission Chair Pelonomi Venson-Moitoi ???
10/24/2014 Botswana MP - Maun West Reaboka Mbulawa Lost 35.65% (-12.94%)
10/24/2014 Botswana MP - Tati West Biggie Ganda Butale Won 42.93% (+9.56%)
10/24/2014 Botswana MP - Ngami Thato Kwerepe Won 47.47% (+0.32%)
10/24/2014 Botswana MP - Nkange Edwin Jenamiso Batshu Won 50.90% (+4.62%)
10/24/2014 Botswana MP - Shashe West Fidelis M. Molao Won 57.28% (+31.84%)
10/24/2014 Botswana MP - Okavango Mbahahauka A. Kambimba Lost 43.60% (-11.08%)
10/24/2014 Botswana MP - Nata-Gweta Polson Majaga Won 36.78% (+5.05%)
10/24/2014 Botswana MP - Tonota Thapelo Olopeng Won 54.81% (+14.33%)
10/24/2014 Botswana MP - Tati East Guma S. Moyo Won 60.45% (+36.49%)
10/24/2014 Botswana MP - Francistown West Mokwaledi Moswaane Won 53.73% (+18.68%)
10/24/2014 Botswana MP - Ghanzi North Johnie Keemenao Swartz Lost 47.96% (-4.09%)
10/24/2014 Botswana MP - Francistown South Sylvia T. Muzila Lost 32.69% (-19.60%)
10/24/2014 Botswana President Ian Khama Won 64.91% (+35.09%)
10/24/2014 Botswana MP - Kgalagadi North Itumeleng E. Moipisi Won 50.33% (+2.58%)
10/24/2014 Botswana MP - Francistown East Buti Honest Billy Won 45.14% (+2.90%)
10/24/2014 Botswana MP - Chobe Ronald Machana Shamukuni Won 56.51% (+13.02%)
10/24/2014 Botswana MP - Kgalagadi South Frans Van Der Westhuizen Won 54.91% (+14.63%)
10/24/2014 Botswana National Assembly Botswana Democratic Party Won 64.91% (+35.09%)
10/24/2014 Botswana MP - Maun East Kostantinos Markus Won 44.93% (+5.51%)