Home About Chat Users Issues Party Candidates Polling Firms Media News Polls Calendar Key Races United States President Senate House Governors International

New User Account
"A historical political resource." 
Email: Password:

  Scottish National
Last EditedIndyGeorgia - April 18, 2017 06:35pm
DescriptionThe SNP is a democratic left-of-centre political party committed to Scottish Independence. It aims to create a just, caring and enterprising society by releasing Scotland's full potential as an independent nation in the mainstream of modern Europe.

The SNP was founded in 1934, and has had continuous parliamentary representation since 1967. Currently in the Scottish Parliament we have 34 MSPs and are the Official Opposition in the Scottish Parliament. At Westminster we have five MPs, two MEPs within the European Parliament, and more than 200 local councillors throughout Scotland.

The party has been at the forefront of the campaign for Scottish self-determination for almost seventy years. The evolution of the SNP has been paralleled by the political evolution of Scotland herself - from an almost totally unionist country to a nation on the brink of independence.

The Scottish people have invested a lot in their Parliament but there is a growing realisation that although devolution was a job worth doing - but it is a job half done.

The SNP exists to argue the case for completing the powers of the Scottish Parliament and returning Scotland to the normal status of an independent country. Independence means Scotland will have a direct voice in Europe and the international community, and the power to tackle Scotland's social and economic problems by making Scotland's wealth work for Scotland's people.

Title Purchase Contributor

Start Date End Date Type Title Contributor

Date Category Headline Article Contributor
Nov 30, 2007 08:00pm News SNP considers working with Tories  Article Ralphie 



06/08/2017 UK Parliament - Linlithgow & Falkirk East Martyn Day ???
06/08/2017 UK Parliament - Paisley & Renfrewshire North Gavin Newlands ???
06/08/2017 UK Parliament - Angus Michael Weir ???
06/08/2017 UK Parliament - Coatbridge, Chryston, & Bellshill Philip Boswell ???
06/08/2017 UK Parliament - Dunfermline & West Fife Douglas Chapman ???
06/08/2017 UK Parliament - Falkirk John McNally ???
06/08/2017 UK Parliament - Glasgow South West Chris Stephens ???
06/08/2017 UK Parliament - Livingston Hannah Bardell ???
06/08/2017 UK Parliament - Paisley & Renfrewshire South Mhairi Black ???
06/08/2017 UK Parliament - Argyll & Bute Brendan O'Hara ???
06/08/2017 UK Parliament - Cumbernauld, Kilsyth, & Kirkintilloch East Stuart McDonald ???
06/08/2017 UK Parliament - East Kilbride, Strathaven, & Lesmahagow Lisa Cameron ???
06/08/2017 UK Parliament - Fife North East Stephen Gethins ???
06/08/2017 UK Parliament - Glenrothes Peter Grant ???
06/08/2017 UK Prime Minister Nicola Sturgeon ???
06/08/2017 UK Parliament - Midlothian Owen Thompson ???
06/08/2017 UK Parliament - Perth & North Perthshire Peter Wishart ???
06/08/2017 UK Parliament - Ayr, Carrick, & Cumnock Corri Wilson ???
06/08/2017 UK Parliament - Dumfries & Galloway Richard Arkless ???
06/08/2017 UK Parliament - East Lothian George Kerevan ???