Home About Chat Users Issues Party Candidates Polling Firms Media News Polls Calendar Key Races United States President Senate House Governors International

"A historical political resource." 
Email: Password:

Last EditedRalphie - May 02, 2012 06:00pm
DescriptionThe Wildrose Party, formerly the Wildrose Alliance Party, is a conservative provincial political party in Alberta, Canada. It includes free market conservative, libertarian and socially conservative factions and was formed in 2008 following a merger of the Wildrose Party of Alberta and the Alberta Alliance.

It first contested Alberta's 2008 provincial election, and was able to capture seven percent of the popular vote but failed to win a seat in the Legislative Assembly. Support for the party rose sharply in 2009 as voters grew increasingly frustrated with the government, resulting in a surprise win by outgoing leader Paul Hinman in an October by-election. The party's popularity continued to increase when in the fall of 2009, Danielle Smith won election as leader, and by December 2009, the Wildrose Alliance was the leading party in opinion polls with 39 percent support, 14 points ahead of both the governing PCs and the opposition Liberals. Wildrose's caucus has grown to four members, after two former PC members of the Legislative Assembly defected in January 2010 and an independent MLA joined the party in June 2010.

Title Purchase Contributor

Start Date End Date Type Title Contributor

Date Category Headline Article Contributor
Dec 17, 2014 09:30pm News New! 9 Wildrose MLAs, including Danielle Smith, cross to Alberta Tories  Article IndyGeorgia 
Oct 17, 2009 12:00pm News Alberta's upstart Wildrose Party to pick new leader   Article Monsieur 

Enter your Name:

A moderator will have to approve your message before it will appear.
Enter This Code


06/01/2016 AB Legislative Assembly - Party Standings Wildrose Party ???
05/05/2015 AB Premier Brian Jean ???
05/05/2015 AB Legislative Assembly - Popular Vote Wildrose Party ???
05/05/2015 Calgary-Elbow MLA Wildrose Party ???
03/28/2015 Wildrose Party Leader Linda Osinchuk Lost 5.08% (-49.76%)
03/28/2015 Wildrose Party Leader Drew Barnes Lost 40.08% (-14.76%)
03/28/2015 Wildrose Party Leader Brian Jean Won 54.84% (+14.76%)
12/17/2014 AB Legislative Assembly - Party Standings Wildrose Party Lost 5.75% (-77.01%)
04/23/2012 AB Legislative Assembly - Grande Prairie-Wapiti Ethane Jarvis Lost 33.28% (-18.86%)
04/23/2012 AB Legislative Assembly - Edmonton-Calder Rich Neumann Lost 18.48% (-19.58%)
04/23/2012 AB Legislative Assembly - Calgary-Elbow James Cole Lost 28.07% (-29.98%)
04/23/2012 AB Legislative Assembly - Airdrie Rob Anderson Won 57.81% (+24.87%)
04/23/2012 AB Legislative Assembly - Innisfail-Sylvan Lake Kerry Towle Won 46.22% (+6.01%)
04/23/2012 AB Legislative Assembly - Rimbey-Rocky Mountain House-Sundre Joe Anglin Won 51.41% (+10.12%)
04/23/2012 AB Legislative Assembly - Edmonton-Meadowlark Rick Newcombe Lost 20.52% (-14.97%)
04/23/2012 AB Legislative Assembly - Cardston-Taber-Warner Gary Bikman Won 54.54% (+16.43%)
04/23/2012 AB Legislative Assembly - Edmonton-Mill Creek Adam Corsaut Lost 18.21% (-36.86%)
04/23/2012 AB Legislative Assembly - Calgary-Glenmore Paul Hinman Lost 37.79% (-11.31%)
04/23/2012 AB Legislative Assembly - Stony Plain Hal Tagg Lost 37.04% (-8.90%)
04/23/2012 AB Legislative Assembly - Edmonton-Ellerslie Jackie Lovely Lost 24.58% (-18.41%)