Home About Chat Users Issues Party Candidates Polling Firms Media News Polls Calendar Key Races United States President Senate House Governors International

New User Account
"A historical political resource." 
Email: Password:

CountryUnited States
Last EditedRBH - May 09, 2009 03:57pm
DescriptionThe Progressive Party has existed in several forms.

Theodore Roosevelt ran as a Progressive in 1912, finishing second ahead of President William Howard Taft. This granted the Progressive Party ballot access in a lot of states, but the Progressive Party withered as a separate entity by 1916 when they fielded no Presidential nominee.

Robert LaFollette was considered a Progressive party candidate in 1924 (although he ran under other labels in some states)

Robert LaFollette, Jr. helped form the Progressive Party of Wisconsin which existed from 1934 to 1946 and won numerous offices.

Henry Wallace also ran as a Progressive in 1948. Although not directly connected or supported by most of the previous Progressive Party members (and unable to use the Progressive label in Wisconsin). Wallace finished 4th with a disappointing percentage.

Currently the Progressive Party has elected officials in Vermont. Where most of the current Progressive Party activity is conducted these days.

Title Purchase Contributor

Start Date End Date Type Title Contributor

Date Category Headline Article Contributor
Sep 19, 2009 01:30pm Blog Entry Oregon Peace Party Changes Its Name to Progressive Party   Article RBH 
Mar 18, 1946 08:00pm Rule Change Progressives of Wisconsin Vote to Rejoin Republicans  Article Homegrown Democrat 

Enter your Name:

A moderator will have to approve your message before it will appear.
Simple bad-talking or insulting messages will likely be deleted.
This site is an English language site and non-English messages will be deleted.

Enter This Code


11/08/2016 OR State Senate 21 James Ofsink Lost 0.00% (+0.00%)
11/08/2016 OR State House 15 Cynthia Hyatt Lost 0.00% (+0.00%)
11/08/2016 OR Treasurer Chris Henry Lost 4.75% (-39.11%)
11/08/2016 OR State House 16 Sami Al-AbdRabbuh Lost 4.75% (-39.11%)
11/08/2016 OR District 03 David Delk Lost 7.27% (-64.86%)
11/08/2016 VT Lt. Governor David E. Zuckerman Won 52.09% (+6.65%)
11/08/2016 VT State House - Rutland-Bennington Robin Chesnut-Tangerman Won 52.04% (+4.08%)
11/08/2016 VT State Senate - Chittenden County Chris Pearson Won 11.36% (-4.77%)
11/08/2016 VT State House - Washington 4 Benjamin Eastwood Lost 12.57% (-28.64%)
11/08/2016 VT State House - Chittenden 06-4 Selene Colburn Won 52.89% (+5.79%)
11/08/2016 VT State House - Washington 1 Jeremy Hansen Lost 18.51% (-17.45%)
11/08/2016 VT State House - Washington 4 Glennie F. Sewell Lost 9.22% (-31.98%)
11/08/2016 VT State House - Chittenden 06-7 Diana Gonzalez Won 35.74% (+0.00%)
11/08/2016 VT State House - Washington 2 Dottye Ricks Lost 18.44% (-25.78%)
11/08/2016 VT State Senate - Washington County Anthony Pollina Won 20.05% (+0.00%)
11/08/2016 VT State House - Lamoille-Washington Marci Young Lost 11.98% (-21.94%)
11/08/2016 VT State House - Chittenden 06-7 Robert Millar Lost 24.86% (-14.53%)
11/08/2016 VT State House - Windham 2-2 Mollie S. Burke Won 81.82% (+63.65%)
11/08/2016 VT State House - Addison 1 Jill Charbonneau Lost 24.93% (-15.07%)
11/08/2016 VT State House - Washington 5 Carl Etnier Lost 16.13% (-31.25%)