Home About Chat Users Issues Party Candidates Polling Firms Media News Polls Calendar Key Races United States President Senate House Governors International

New User Account
"A historical political resource." 
Email: Password:

 Ashland Heights 
 Big Bend 
 Box Elder 
 Colonial Pine Hills 
 Five Points 
 Gossage Memorial 
 Green Valley 
 Hill City 
 Johnson Siding 
 Mawl Springs 
 New Underwood 
 Rapid City 
 Rapid Valley 
 Silver City 
 Stratosphere Bowl 
Attached Containers
Marketing Area
 Rapid City, SD  

  Governor  Dennis Daugaard 2 14 +45.03%
  Commissioner of Schools & Public Lands  Jarrod Johnson 2 10 +32.98%
  President  Mitt Romney 0 12 +18.02%
  Senate Class II  Michael "Mike" Rounds 1 14 +20.86%
  Senate Class III  John Thune 3 10 +100.00%
  SD - At-Large  Kristi Noem 3 14 +33.06%
  IM18: Increase Minimum Wage to $8.50  Yes 32 14 +10.09%
  Legalize Medical Marijuana  No 99 10 +26.61%
  Make judges legally & financially liable for their decisions retroactively?  No 99 06 +78.42%
  Only Male-Female Marriages Recognized?  Yes 107 06 +3.66%
  SD State House 27   Kevin Killer 3 14 +1.76%
  Elizabeth May 0 14 +7.19%
  SD State House 29   Thomas J. Brunner 4 14 +3.06%
  Dean Wink 0 14 +48.47%
  SD State House 30   Mike Verchio 4 14 +2.68%
  Lance S. Russell 0 14 +13.29%
  SD State House 32   Brian Gosch 2 14 +4.23%
  Kristin Conzet 1 14 +3.71%
  SD State House 33   Jacqueline Sly 3 14 +2.35%
  Scott Craig 0 14 +15.57%
  SD State House 34   Dan Dryden 1 14 +5.60%
  Jeff Partridge 0 14 +14.38%
  SD State House 35   Lynne DiSanto 1 14 +6.71%
  Blaine "Chip" Campbell 0 14 +7.98%
  SD State Senate 27  Jim Bradford 4 14 +100.00%
  SD State Senate 29  Gary Cammack 1 14 +100.00%
  SD State Senate 30  Bruce Rampelberg 3 14 +100.00%
  SD State Senate 32  Alan D. Solano 1 14 +100.00%
  SD State Senate 33  Phil Jensen 2 14 +29.30%
  SD State Senate 34  Craig Tieszen 4 14 +100.00%
  SD State Senate 35  Terri Haverly 1 14 +100.00%

Parents > United States > South Dakota > SD Counties  
Established 00, 0000
Disbanded Still Active
Last ModifiedThe Oncoming Storm March 07, 2008 11:44am
DescriptionQUICK FACTS
Area: 2,776 sq. mi.
Population: 88,565
Seat: Rapid City

Pennington County, created in 1875 and organized in 1877, is shaped like a giant tomahawk and covers over a million and a half acres. It was named for John L. Pennington, Governor of Dakota Territory from 1874 to 1878. Governor Pennington named commissioners in 1877 and their first meeting was held at Pactola. The commission later met at Sheridan, which was made the county seat. A vote of the people in November, 1877 made Rapid City the county seat.
PVIR+22.35 ( D-11.20 R+10.68 I-0.03 N-0.08 LBT+0.60 G-0.36 CST+0.56 PFP-0.05 J-0.03 A'sP-0.03 IR-0.02 )
Aurora Beadle Bennett Bon Homme Brookings Brown Brule Buffalo Butte Campbell Charles Mix Clark Clay Codington Corson Custer Davison Day Deuel Dewey Douglas Edmunds Fall River Faulk Grant Gregory Haakon Hamlin Hand Hanson Harding Hughes Hutchinson Hyde Jackson Jerauld Jones Kingsbury Lake Lawrence Lincoln Lyman Marshall McCook McPherson Meade Mellette Miner Minnehaha Moody Pennington Perkins Potter Roberts Sanborn Shannon Spink Stanley Sully Todd Tripp Turner Union Walworth Yankton Ziebach


Polls Close Description Takes Office





Start Date End Date Type Title Contributor

Title Purchase Contributor

Date Category Headline Article Contributor

Enter your Name:

A moderator will have to approve your message before it will appear.
Simple bad-talking or insulting messages will likely be deleted.
If you are trying to write to a candidate that appears on the site, they likely do not read this and will not answer.
This site is an English language site and non-English messages will be deleted.

Enter This Code